How can I gain access to my private key?

in #hive9 months ago

I had my keys on a flash drive which died. Fortunately, I'm still logged into this account on one of my browsers. Took me a couple of weeks to figure out that I was logged in or else I wouldn't have been able to post anything.

th1.webp

Whenever I go to try to recover my key it looks like I'm given a public key which is not a key at all. Some kind of placeholder. I don't understand how to exchange that public key for a private. I don't have the master key or any key to put in at all. It's just that i happen to be logged in. There is no way to access the flash drive. As soon as I plug it into my computer it freezes up and becomes completely unusable.

Does anyone know how I can access my private key?

Sort:  

You should go to Hive wallet hopefully your web browser remember the password from there you can get your keys (go to the browser and see what the password it has saved )

I appreciate your reply. Wallet says login. Not good.

Bummer! If you're logged in on a browser tab can't you view your keys from Wallet/Keys & Permissions? If not, I'd pose the question in one of the Hive Discord channels...just be very careful as there might be scammers lurking. In the meantime I would create an alternate account just to be safe, if there are no options to recover the key you can transfer your tokens to that new alt account anyway.

I just read the comment above about not having wallet access. I hope you can find a solution! This has happened to a few people I've known throughout the years.

I appreciate your reply. I kind of doubt that there's any real solution to this and I think I'm probably just permanently locked out. Maybe starting a new account wouldn't be such a bad thing.