You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to create a Tribe and what goes into it. A guide for the curious.

in #hive3 years ago

Is a security the same as a share as seen in the stock market? Better question than that would be is Steem Power (SP) or Hive Power (HP) considered to be like a security or a share or a stake?


I'm asking because I've heard people make comparisons between these terms before and I've especially heard the term "Stake" used to describe SP and HP.


And I've always thought that stake was similar to securities and shares. I know just because something is similar does not mean they're the same thing.


But it just makes me wonder as we have HP in our wallet, as the HBD and liquid Hive coins increase in value, that then increases the HP value and the overall value of your wallet.


That to me parallels how when Disney increases in value, your individual share increases in value as well. So, is a stock market share or security just slightly different than liquid Hive, HBD, and especially HP?


I may be considering making my own tokens and tribes someday. I feel like I have a lot of research I need to do. I probably wouldn't want to make a coin that was like a security.


But I just want to make sure I know how to distinguish between what might be a security and whichever things are currently not considered securities according to current laws in America.

Sort:  

Perhaps you can read this post for more info about Howeys test for securities...

https://www.findlaw.com/consumer/securities-law/what-is-the-howey-test.html

But does it make a correlation with how HP works?

No it doesnt. Hive is not a security in my own opinion.

I don't disagree. John McAfee was talking about Bitcoin is not a security. After watching the videos where he explained it, I adopted his views on Bitcoin. I would imagine that Hive and many if not all true cryptocurrencies either are or could have been not a security like Bitcoin is not.


But my question is not in regards to what cryptocurrencies are not. We can say that they are not securities. Some or most of them probably are not actually securities.


But my question is in if the law in the United States as of right now view Bitcoin, Hive, and other cryptocurrencies, as securities, shares, money, assets, items that could be taxed, etc.


Many times, laws can be not right. So, if they were to say Bitcoin or Hive was a security or something, they would most likely be inaccurate. But I still want to know what the laws are even if the laws are wrong. Many laws can be wrong. I just want to know ahead of time what I'm getting myself into as life goes on.

Okay i probably dont have enough knowledge to answer this question. But last time I checked, in U.S, Bitcoin and Ethereum are not securities, this is what influences my judgement in saying Hive is not a security based on the grounds that they are decentralized with no person or company in control of them. I guess theres more to it tho...

We will find out soon I think. I'm following the SEC vs Ripple lawsuit. I believe this will provide a lot of clarity in the U.S.

Cannot wait.