Sort:  

Reducing power down time will also have zero impact.

I would still prefer 4-week power down than 13.

I see no purpose in reducing power down time. Other than even more down pressure.

Now, if we were to come up with a solution where 4 weeks is the default and there's additional incentives for 13, 26, 52, 104, 156 weeks aso then I'm absolutely game. People could still power down but at the pace defined buy their lock-in period.

Lowering the PD time because "proof of brainers" want faster liquidity is merely a form of propaganda in my eyes.

And the downward pressure is assumed. Do you see STEEM having problems with its price with a shorter PD time? In fact, price is higher than HIVE.

Pressure goes both ways. Nobody in their right mind would want to play with a low liquidity coin where slippage becomes a real concern.

At 3% default interest, with +8% default inflation and another on average 10% inflation from conversions, there won't be another side to the downpressure. But I don't think that is a big issue. But there's just nothing compelling about lowering it either.

Nobody will come and buy, unless some FOMO can be generated. You can get more and risk-free without those inflation issues on other platforms. And then I don’t have to chase curation rewards either to beat the average inflation.

I don’t know what’s going on on the other chain. Couldn’t care less, I don’t call that, and its overlord’s empire, a blockchain. But I think JS doesn’t want any haircut.

Anyway, I stick with my original reply. ;)

Reducing power down time will also have zero impact.