Staying Neutral?

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

There seems to be a bit of confusion going around STEEM and Hive. It appears as if the concept of a neutral stance is up for debate, as if the concept is radical and new.



Define Definition


Some people refer to this as word thinking, which is to say, you don't address the behavior, the action, but try to change the concept of the word as to defend the action itself.

To give a simple example. Let's say I'm told by my wife that eating carbs is not allowed in our house. Let's say she spoke with a physician about my health and thus knows that I should not get anywhere near them.

Simply because "I'm a rebel" and I "need to win" I decide to eat an oatmeal cookie, I get caught, and thus the argument starts.

I could be stubborn and defend my cookie eating by pointing out that oatmeal is excellent for your health (some truth to that) and that it doesn't count as carbs because of this very reason.... Or... I could be a grownup and accept that I ate carbs.

Playing both sides


I think the best analogy, the best way to frame the recent events is to equate them to a war. It may sound hyperbolic, but the battle of ideologies was in full display as far as I could tell.

Along that line of thinking, Imagine that I was a soldier in a conflict between to neighboring countries. Imagine that I, because I'm a smart cookie and because I need to ensure my living, decide to sell products to both sides.

So, to Republican Country of South Steemia I'm selling shields to defend themselves from North Hivea, to which I'm selling swords to.

You see, I can claim to be "neutral" because I'm selling them items to maintain the stalemate. One can't hurt the other, meanwhile I'm chugging along trying to make my monies.

In my example, it's quite clear that I'm acting without honor, and if someone was to point it out, no matter how much I massage the definition of "neutrality" nobody in their right sober mind would accept it.

Well, the picture is quite clear.

RACISM!!!


It's the last resort for those out of arguments. I see it so often it barely moves a needle in my head. Every single time someone is losing a logical argument they resort to the classics.

  1. Your a racist
  2. You are like Hitler
  3. You are ignorant

None of these land, because they are the blunt tools of the mentally crippled.

So...


If you are still confused about being neutral, let me know. Maybe I can call the cops on you, plant some drugs, but call you to let you know they are coming so you can run away on time.

And, if you get angry with me... well... We'll know your just a racist piece of shit.

MenO

Sort:  

Nice to see you on Hive!

I respect your neutrality but remember the only successful neutral countries are ones with excellent natural defences (ie the Swiss Alps) protecting them, compulsory conscription to a citizen army and a massive defence budget.

There was plenty of bad behavior on both sides. I support our community and our people but I can't keep a running account of Jsun's behavior (which was disgusting) without looking at many things I found to be a huge turn off on our side too.

This isn't about tribalism for me, let's see where the rubber meets the road.

I am impressed though as the attention turns away from the battle and back to moving things forward.

I disagreed with the freezing of JS's accounts in the very beginning. Let's say that it matters who shot first. That being said, his behavior afterwards confirmed the fears everyone had.

Nice to see you in Hive.

Everything is correctly said, but if a person does not want to understand something, it is impossible for him to explain :)

Все правильно сказано, но, если человек не хочет что то понимать, ему нереально обяснить:)

There’s just something about free internet money that brings out the worst in some people! I guess it’s always there, it’s just amplified by certain situations!

I got told off just for saying you still have steem and people who no longer wanted steem made their own chain so why would you bother with this new chain if you had such a vested interest in steem?

you can say that again... There's too many entitled brats in the world

This is why I try not to get into arguments with people who don’t listen to or respect others points of view, regardless of their stance.