Aftermath of the Phishing the HIVE

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

a1dccec86c468ba8f63de55086fd416c6e7bd79d.jfif

Thinking...

I was one of the unlucky individuals that did not use a URL Extender when they saw that a link had a file down slash, you know, just to be sure. As a result of that, I lost my four-year-old HIVE / Steemit account this morning. I have been pondering all day as I played games and just, in general, got more familiar with the HIVE ecosystem what could possibly be done moving forward as a result of this hack. Recognize that I am a nobody that has been on Steemit for four years. I just like to write about interesting things, so consider this a proposal.

Proposal...

From my understanding, what happened this morning was this, someone placed a shortened link made to look like it was from a legitimate Defi lender and then used that link to post comments in accounts. I realize that bot accounts are very difficult to stop, however, as soon as the hack was recognized as such, there were people that were tracking the withdrawals as I understand it. My thinking is that the HIVE community should come up with some kind of "Compromised Accounts" dashboard where users can "Freeze" any activity, even without the master keys. Perhaps have one of the other keys, maybe the memo is used for this? The memo key is something that hackers do not normally change. Then, a simple HIVE onboarding verification, whether it be phone or email, should suffice to verify the identity of the owner. I mean, hackers might get private keys, but if they do not change the memo key (Rarely used from my understanding...) then surely they will not have the email log-in credentials too, right?

Just my thoughts for the night as I play games on here...

Sort:  

Eek really sorry to hear this. I believe there is account recovery if you have a backup account setup? Could be worth looking into...

Yeah there is, but if you do not have someone that you trust like that or a person is a loner, there should be another option that fits the "Decentralized" theme....

Yeah total bummer

Congratulations @nobutsd1974! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Man sorry to hear that. I like your idea of a "freeze" accounts like credit cards do when something happens to your credit card.

Yeah, that way, I mean even if they can't come up with a way to verify the account, assuming they can stop the HIVE from leaving the platform, they could then have a "pool" or something of recovered hacked tokens. They could then, in turn, be used for giveaways, burned, whatever. As long as the hackers don't get it is my point.