You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Is Invisible, Just Like Me

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

I've been creating content here, forever. It's quiet. Not so much in my neck of the woods but I'm not blind. I spend a lot of time now playing the role of consumer. For years we've worked on attracting new members in the form of content creators. Never once focused on attracting consumers and marketing the benefits. So we built this stage and forgot to put butts in the seats. Then they started building numerous stages, and once again forgot to put butts in the seats. So we have all these little clubs that are nearly impossible to navigate. Little clusters of humanity here, there, maybe everywhere but not really. And of course content is a product and the pay depends on a token, but not only the token but the value of the token. They're constantly looking for 'investors', and forever not realizing when you have content, the consumers are the investors. I've been talking about this problem for years though. It doesn't seem to click. Even those with a big brand following on the outside don't even realize their consumers supporting their work here get a far better deal than anywhere else. They simply use the platform like they do the other twenty platforms they use. As just a way to milk a few pennies here and there. They play for crypto handouts rather than an audience.

Due to the lack of dedicated and interested consumers, Hive loses out on the benefits of free advertising when consumers share content on social media to their peers. Regardless of subject matter, each 'unit' of content escaping into the wild becomes an advertisement for Hive. Youtube found success and part of the reason is because early on, people were sharing Youtube videos on Facebook. That's your free marketing when you attract consumers who realize they can earn here for consuming, even if they pay a bit.

There are two distinct branches of social media. One, like twitter or Facebook, is a distribution tool mainly used by content consumers. The other branch is something like Youtube and various other platforms (Hive) where the content is created with social elements mixed in. One is the paper, the other is the paperboy. For some reason many using Hive don't even recognize this difference nor know how to use social media distribution tools to their benefit.

It's also kind of ridiculous to expect creators to play the role of consumer as well. Only so much time in a day. New people show up to create content and expect the existing consumer base to be able to support them. Even as a consumer I only have maximum ten votes to hand out per day. People quit feeling ignored not realizing there simply aren't enough eyes to go around.

Sort:  

Wow, fantastic reply, @nonameslefttouse, thank you.

And I can tell a lot of energy has been poured into attracting content-creators, and I love that. And I myself have built way too many stages with empty seats, and it was heart-breaking for me every time. Your description of hard-to-navigate clubs is spot on.

As is your view on content, consumers, platforms, and investors. The paper vs. the paper boy. Well said. Playing for an audience seems a better choice than playing for crypto-handouts, and I imagine eventually they'll be closely tied together.

I didn't know about the ten votes a day, that throws an interesting wrench in things.

Thanks for giving me so much food for thought, and making my first 'real post' on Hive feel good. This makes me want to check out some of your other writings. Wishing you a great day!

I didn't know about the ten votes a day, that throws an interesting wrench in things.

Roughly ten votes per day, at maximum power. I could lower the percentage to 50, give out 20, but those would be smaller in size as in, less value. For your response I'll give you a 10 percent vote.

It's limited simply because if there were no limitations, someone would create a bot that votes for their own spam all day, making money each time for nothing. So it's needed.

If you have a lot of staked tokens, you get to give more in a day than someone with fewer staked tokens (Hive Power).

Each time I vote, I get a return. Some went to you, some goes to me. I got paid to read this post, because I voted. If I was donating, like they do on other platforms, I would have been down money. Here, we're both earning; consumer and creator. That's why I said it's a good deal. A consumer could spend $100, stake tokens, support their favorite independent creator over time with votes, and forever, and end up leaving with more money than they started with. When a creator tries to attract thousands of consumers, then they set up a solid and permanent revenue stream for themselves. That part has yet to be attempted to its full potential. They just come for the 'free' money. And leave when it doesn't arrive.

Very interesting. I've read quite a bit about Hive recently, but often, I ended up more confused than when I started.

On the other hand, your explanation here is the clearest one I've come across, and I appreciate it.

I learned about:
A. Voting percentage
B. How the system stops voting-bots
C. Staked tokens/Hive Power
D. The more 'balanced' earning of consumer and creator.
E. Untapped potential of 'fully attracting' creators on this platform.

Extremely insightful, @nonameslefttouse!

You've given me a lot of value today far beyond your '10% vote' (though I'm grateful for that too). Thanks for injecting more joy into my early Hive experience.

And now, resource credits (RC). I see you're getting low. Under 50%. That'll take three days to charge up. Hive Power is what's needed to have more resource credits and a vote worth money. Everything you do costs RC including voting, commenting, posting, etc, all of it. If you power up your earnings when you receive them after seven days, that'll help.

Try this out:

https://peakd.com/@ryzeonline

That's what I use to browse Hive. That's where I found out your RC was getting low (by hovering the mouse over the 'i' next to your reputation score). So take it easy. I'd suggest avoiding hitting the vote button, since it's kind of pointless right now as it's not really a 'like' button. That'll save on some RC. Leave too many comments and you'll get a warning telling you you need to be quiet for a few days while it charges up LOL!

Oh my... now I'm scared to even reply to comments, lol. I'll try to power up my earnings after 7 days, thank you.

I signed up for PeakD, it has a nice look and some nice features, again appreciated.

I've learned so much about Hive just from a few comments from you, I agree with @slobberchops, you could totally rock some tutorials if you felt up to it. Or as I learn more, perhaps I could make some, just to help out other beginners like myself. :)

Anyway, I may use up all my remaining RC replying to people in this thread, so I'm off to figure out a way to get more.

I could see you producing some nice tutorials using your own twisted slant, I'm off the boil for the moment.