You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to use your witness votes the most effectively (and why you have been doing it wrong)

in #hive2 years ago

Delegations should be done with care, and align with your own ideas. As long as you watch what happens with your delegation, I don't think it hurts decentralization.

Witnesses don't have to be active on the platform necessarily, their job is keeping the chain secure. It's hard to judge someone who doesn't show a presence though. If you know someone who runs a witness node because he likes the tech or the idea of decentralization but doesn't blog, you should definitely vote for him!

Sort:  

let's say that I meant their presence on the blockchain more than on the blog side, as for having as many witnesses as possible, we certainly support and hope that the number of witnesses will grow more and more on Hive, but what I want is that at least the first 100 are very active.
anyway thanks for your answer!

They have a presence by running a witness node. Voters have to make sure to support those who bring the most benefit.

yes but at least to update the feed, even for those who come as a new investor or as a new witness is not really beautiful to see... I don't know if I can explain myself
Cattghghga.PNG

The feed is not important for backup witnesses. The blockchain uses the median value of each round, and as some lower ranks don't even produce a single block in a day, that's no a good measurement for activity. Only optics.

Although your state is correct (the feed of the backup witnesses is not taken into account), it remains a good evaluation indicator. It's not hard to keep your feed up to date and it shows the witness' involvement and desire to act as a reliable actor.

it shows the witness' involvement and desire to act as a reliable actor.

That's just an interpretation of yours. It could also mean they understand how the blockchain works and avoid bloating it with unnecessary data.

Maybe far fetched, but not further than judging their desire for reliability by it.

Your interpretation is valid but I honestly think it's not the one that concerns the "active" witnesses with a price feed that hasn't been updated for days. I even wonder if it ever crossed their minds. But maybe I'm wrong and it's just me who likes things clean and square.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @pharesim, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

If you like BEER and want to support us please consider voting @louis.witness on HIVE and on HIVE Engine.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @pharesim, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @pharesim, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @pharesim, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.