request for all the Hive witnesses and stakeholders

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

This is the real Rancho and I am not relaxed .
I was one of the early investors on steem I believed on the concept of decentralized social media.
I invested my own money on the platform and tried to contribute as much as I could.
A year ago I had a house fire where in the process my laptop got burned, in it I had all my steem keys . I have been trying to regain access to it ever since but to no avail.
I can confirm that my keys are lost. However I see my account is still active on steem and hive blockchain.
I can tell you that my posting key must have been compromised while I was using it in the early days so someone is earning from my stake.
I was brought up to be an honest guy and find this unacceptable, but because of the Not your keys not your crypto saying I could do nothing.
I have accepted the fact that I will probably never see that steem or hive again.
Now I challenge anyone that is using my account to prove that they own the account.
I had to think very hard about this to make it as fair as possible.
So my request to the hive witnesses is simple initiate a power down on @ranchorelaxo account.
This way my stake is not touched if I ever find the keys to the account I can claim my stake and at the same time it stops anyone who has access to my posting key from ruining my name.
I think this is simplest solution it gives a chance to whoever has the keys to prove they own the account without touching funds or limiting the account.

13 weeks is more than enough for anyone to prove that they own the keys and stop the powerdown.

You can use this post to vote on and discuss if what I’m asking is fair.

Upvote for yes , flag for against.

@abit @anyx @arcange @ausbitbank @blocktrades @cervantes @clayop @curie @drakos
@emrebeyler @good-karma @gtg @jesta @netuoso @ocd-witness @pharesim @quochuy @riverhead @roelandp @smooth.witness @someguy123
@steempeak @steempress @stoodkev @themarkymark @therealwolf @yabapmatt @theycallmedan @darthknight @someguy123 @pharesim @curie @hivewatchers @timcliff @pfunk @liondani @innerhive @threespeak

Sort:  

The short answer is no.

The long answer is noooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.

😂😂😂😂

Are you for real lol 😂

If it is really your account can you remember the exact date you made your last transaction must be the right date and time if you can remember

For anyone reading this:
Accept it as a rule that "Not your keys, not your account".

Short answer : No,

Long answer: No, we (@steempress) won't agree with anything that involves tampering with anyone's funds or even something as trivial as changing someone's display name. The one who owns the keys now owns the account unless you manage to find an old key and can recover. But there is nothing that we will do.

(I can already see the hive haters coming like "you already did by excluding people when the chain was made" and to that I reply not aidropping is completely different from touching funds after launch, see https://hive.blog/hive/@ats-david/do-you-even-hive-bro).

And even if we were willing, you have no proof that you actually used to own that account.

I'm sorry but that's blockchain. You have a lot of freedom where no one can tell you what you can't do, but that comes at the price where if you lose your keys, no one can help you.

If this is a true story, I sympathize with you. I've lost crypto to lost keys before.

Now I challenge anyone that is using my account to prove that they own the account.
I had to think very hard about this to make it as fair as possible.
So my request to the hive witnesses is simple initiate a power down on @ranchorelaxo account.

Even if the witnesses were to do something like this, the burden of proof is 100% on you. Even then,

Not your keys not your crypto

still applies to this request.

I request all responses be in GIF format.

Given your relationship with @haejin and your enabling of his abuse, I wouldn't count on anyone caring about you.

thank you for signing up to piggericks