Bruno -- A Lament for a Loyal Friend

in #hive3 years ago
}

It is with a very heavy heart that I write to say that my loyal companion of over 10 years has crossed the Rainbow Bridge. Those of you that have known me for some time know how much I care for him. For those of you that don't, I rescued Bruno at gunpoint from a group of drunks that used to get plastered and torment/torture him. They lived next door to a man who worked for me and I witnessed the abuse first hand and despising injustice I saw an opportunity to remedy one.

I know that many may think 'he's just a dog,' but to me he was much more -- he was a loyal and devoted friend. I much prefer the company of dogs to that of humans, a species that I find duplicitous and self-interested for the most part. I've never yet met a dog that lies or behaves dishonestly, while the vast majority of humans I've met do. Over the past 11 years Bruno has proved to be a wonderfully loyal friend, not only to me but to my granddaughter Kayla who is devoted to him -- she will be heartbroken when she gets the news, she grew up with him.

On Christmas 2019 Bruno suffered a massive stroke, but recovered after a week or so. Subsequently, he had several mini-strokes but would recover after an hour or so. Last week he suffered another massive stroke after which he stopped eating and drinking. We used to have a vet that made house calls but stopped because of... Covid. It seems to touch our lives in unexpected ways.

They say that bad news never strikes alone and I suppose it's true. A couple of weeks ago "The Beast," my Gateway 825 GM, that I bought in 2012 for $25 began showing signs that it was headed for whatever bridge computers go over when they die. It began running slower and slower -- it took 30 minutes to upload a photo and copy & Paste my last article from google.docs where I write to Hive. Altogether this episode has put me $1500 in debt! Lamentably, I've had to power down my Hive account as it's my only source of income. There used to be a computer shop that sold refurbished computers but they closed... reason -- Covid. Frankly, this "new normal" sucks.

Please join me in saying goodbye to my devoted friend. He was 17-18 (I'm not exactly sure which) and enjoyed at least 11 years of a good life, a pretty long life for a big dog. I will miss him and his loyal company, something I'm certain all dog lovers will understand. I am comforted by the fact that he's no longer suffering -- there are no strokes in Heaven and I look forward to seeing him there -- something all dog lovers I'm sure understand. So farewell to a good good boy, travel well my friend!

Sort:  

Rest in peace Bruno.

I really like how you saved him from terrible people, being the change you want to see in the world is always the best way to go. He truly is in a better place now, the pain and suffering is gone. I have you and him in my thoughts and prayers Rich.

TF writing.

Thank you my friend! We had a funeral for him at Holy Cross cemetery. All of the guys at the cemeteries showed up, they all knew him from when I managed there. He is in a much better place. At the end I prayed for him to go so the suffering would end. Thanks again TF!

Farewell to your dear friend and loyal companion:(

!LUV 1

Thank you my friend!

All the time that I know about Bruno, I was afraid to see this post ... But this happened ... Let him run across the rainbow bridge, let him find delicious sugar bones there. I believe that all our tailed friends will meet us on the other side. I hug you, I know how hard this moment is

Thank you my friend! This is the post I never wanted to write, but I know that he's in a much better place now -- it was so painful watching him suffer. I'm sad and my heart is broken but I know that he's better off so for him I'm happy. I know he'll be waiting for me on the other side.

Hi @richq11, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @palikari123. Having at least 5 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV tokens in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

Thank you so much!

Dear Rich, I don't have the right words in english, but I'm so sorry to know Bruno passed away. Very sad moments, I can understand. :(
I think Bruno was lucky to meet you and I'm sure he was an happy dog with you, now he's running on beautiful green fields and, from there, he's continuing to love you and to watch you. Hugs,warm warm hugs, dear Rich.

So sorry Bro : -(

I have a strong suspicion, like Morrison said, "We live, we die, and death not ends it." After my cat died, it didn't prevent him from visiting me in the dreamscape. I don't know what comprises dreams, or if we got made of dream stuff ourselves, but it made me feel hopeful. And I think that you too, will one day get that visit from Bruno. For what you do on computer (if you're not gaming) something very inexpensive would suffice. It can probably be managed without breaking a hundo. DM me, if you need someone to point you in the right direction for a PC.

I got a new Dell PC, I'm sick of fooling with used comps. It's something I can leave my granddaughter when I shuffle off this mortal coil. I just had to get Windows 7 on it. I still feel Bruno, I can't quite get myself to get rid of his food dishes and collar yet. But at the same time the place feels empty without him, if that makes any sense. Thanks my friend!

It sure does make sense to me, and there's no need to bother with rushing to part with his dishes and collar. That may seem practical right now, but not doing so could also help keep memories of him close to home. Perhaps an opportunity will present itself to make use of the food. There's nothing wrong with taking your time and doing these things (or not) when it feels right for you. I know I kept my cat's water dish for a long time after he passed. It just didn't feel right to get rid of it. Flash forward several years later, and somehow I either let it go or managed to lose track of it in one of several moves. Dogs are pure love, and Bruno wouldn't judge you either way on the matter. Take good care, friend. And don't shuffle off too quick bud, you've way too many red pills left in your mindsauce to distribute. Yours is a voice of clarity in these upside-down times, and people have to have the opportunity to learn how we got here to prevent where we are going. Else the social justice warriors will have us goose-stepping in high heels and fishnet stockings while we feverishly virtue Sieg vile to avoid the gallows.

Thanks my friend! I'm too old for goosestepping in heels. Bruno's been sharing his food with the squirrels for years now so it won't go to waste. I'll keep up my battle with the SJWs for as long as I'm drawing breath.

I have an abused rescue here now, so I understand! I have had so many good dogs, that I may have to swim that river to avoid the rainbow bridge...might get mugged.

Rescues offer a special level of love, and those that were abused; take that special love to a whole new level!

Sorry you lost that loyal backup, I cry with you; but the company and love, is worth the pain. Later memories will become sweeter, and then there's the rainbow bridge....

Condolences for your heart friend on four feet!

:'(

Thanks buddy! I still look over to where he always stood when I was writing. When he decided he wasn't getting the proper attention he would use his snout to lift my hand from the keyboard. He was a loyal friend for over 10 years, he's missed.

They are pure souls, and honest friends! Von (my rescue), after over two years, allows some petting, and he's been in my lap once. He's still broken, but improving. Follows me everywhere now.

My daughter had one who would interrupt her studies by worming his way onto her keyboard, and holding down keys!

It will improve with time, but it is hard to loose a true friend! We never have them long enough....

:'(

I'm sorry for your loss. I have not and will never forget Sasha, my Husky who died @ 14 1/2 1/2/2014. Few reach our hearts like a loving canine. ❤

Thank you, I miss him every day. I find myself looking over expecting him to be sittimg there.

Hi My Friend, sorry to hear this, I recall you telling me about how you came to adopt him?, which made at least 2 creatures Happy, I have been off these Posts for a while too, also having powered down . I know exactly how you feel as Max my Male Bull Terrier , I have had for over 10 years had un-diagnosed masses internally and heart problems , I held him while he was put down and then sat down in my car and wept, (which I am doing now reading about your heartache as well) I have been assured that when we pass on from this Mortal life , I will see all the animals I have loved again. which makes the looming 74th Birthday, seem not so bad. Look forward to meeting You and Bruno on the otherside in the Future.

Thank you old friend! My heart goes out to you as well for your loss of your beloved Max. I've always has a tender spot for Bullies. I look forward to seeing Bruno again, along with meeting you and Max on the other side.