You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does Hive have a Future? Perhaps ... but it will need an Alliance.

in #hive2 years ago

One of the most insightful, real-talk posts I've read on the subject in a while. Huge props to you sir. Whether any 'hivelanders' understand your points and act accordingly remains to be seen. In my experience, they'll just stubbornly argue against it. , but hopefully minds have opened and attitudes have changed since. :) 🙏

Sort:  

Thanks Mate.

The post was getting pretty long so I cut out a number of things I'd intended to put in. One was an admonishment by Napoleon of his generals. When reviewing their plans for deploying troops to protect France's borders from rapidly approaching armies, he quipped [paraphrasing], "Who are you trying to stop, smugglers?"

Not knowing where the enemy would strike, his generals had planned to disburse French forces along the length of the border. Such "de-concentration of force," however, would guarantee that no matter where they struck, there would be an insufficient counter-force to repel them.

As I've frequently written, the Achilles Heel of "decentralization" (cryptos and their dApps) is a seeming inability to "focus force," thereby achieving "critical mass." The result is a myriad of projects that "don't work" instead of a handful that do.

What separates Innovators & Early Adopters from the Mainstream (upon which all else depends) is the desire to prove a point: that "The Dream" is not a fantasy. The Mainstream couldn't give a shit about elevating ideology ... they only care about whether a thing works and whether it's easy to use. The "True Believers," though, will have none of it. Not only does one have to agree with their end goals, one has to agree with how to get there.

"We're not in it for the money," exclaim the holier-than-thou and soon-to-be-crucified martyrs (as they nevertheless do everything within their power to increase the size of their wallets).

Well, I hope they mean what they say for it has been my experience that those unwilling to "fight to win," are well on their way to losing.

Quill

Yes, the Napoleon story is a good example of people's (unfortunately common) tendency to spread themselves thin or attempt to tackle 'too many' things at once.

I've never bought-in to the 'decentralization' narrative. Like, sure, I like some decentralization, and I see it's benefits, but the issue is deeper than that.

Centralization is great and responsible for many of the things people take for granted everyday. I don't see an iPhone being developed by a rag-tag community, but I do see it being developed by a visionary leader.

The Mainstream couldn't give a shit about elevating ideology ... they only care about whether a thing works and whether it's easy to use.

Great point, totally agreed, and I've said the same here many times.

"We're not in it for the money," exclaim the holier-than-thou and soon-to-be-crucified martyrs (as they nevertheless do everything within their power to increase the size of their wallets).

Hah, yep.

Those unwilling to "fight to win," are well on their way to losing.

Spot on.

Wishing you a great day.

P.S. I'm no stranger to long posts (I've broken hive's character-limit many times), lol. 🙏

I just read your linked articles. I couldn't agree more.

BTW, I see you're a fellow Canuck. Although I live in Florida, I'm originally from Halifax.

Well met.

Quill

I'm glad my articles resonated. We have so much in common it seems. Interestingly my partner is from Florida, but moved to Toronto a few years ago, lol. Well met! 🙏