You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1 of the BIGGEST Hive Rewards EVER!!! 2,000 Hive for a Friendlier & Even More Fun Hive Blockchain! #CometWeek HQ ☄️

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

So I've just come across an update to the contest All the Hive dollars this topic generates is yours week seventeen by @rentmoney . And it made me sad😥 It would appear that a Hiver by the name of Smooth has DV'ed the post and not left any comment to explain their actions😲Oh well, each to their own I suppose. I just thought it was considered the polite thing to do so that the author can understand the rationale and engage with the DV'er to rectify any misconceptions, mistakes etc or just agree to disagree, appeal to the platform etc...Surely the platform should require a DV to have an accompanying comment otherwise something should be done to mitigate it? My sense of equitable response to this DV was to upvote 3-4 of @rentmoney 's comments on the post as he is going ahead with the contest anyway and going to provide a prize out of his own funds. I had previously upvoted the post at 100% when I entered and it doesn't bother me that I lose the curation rewards on this, but I feel for the author who does not deserve this. So I commented further on his post saying that I had upvoted some of his comments and would be visiting his other articles to ensure I upvoted one or two there and encouraged everyone else who visited the post to do the same. ❗

Sort:  

hmm ... looks like rentmoney was not the only one https://hivel.ink/hbdstabilizer/@tattoodjay/re-smooth-qya9ar

Would be nice to know why someone gives a downvote of course and I like the idea that people would have to leave a comment when downvoting

As I understand it in this case it is because they feel the posts is earning disproportionately more that similar posts and is trying to balance things out

I respect there right to do that as the system is now

I mean reward correction is understandable ... But I think it's important to atleast take the time to tell the author about why they have down voted ....

In most cases the author feels "sad" because they think that there is something "wrong" with their post.

I can't do this for other front ends but the only thing I can do, would be to add a "reason for downvote" for Terrive ( when I add a down vote option ) but I don't think it would make much difference because I only have a few users and no down votes on any posts so far.

That’s good you have no downvote there

And I do agree if people had to leave a comment when downvoting at least then people would know why

Loading...

Yup. I saw this last night and was shaking my head. 😕

It's just sad you know .... I've seen people a lot of people get upset because of these out of the blue downvotes ....

Thanks for the support. Don't be sad, the downvote doesn't bother me and don't let it bother you either. I do agree that curators should get in the habit of giving reasons for their downvote.

!ENGAGE 50
!BEER
!PIZZA
!LUV

Aw thanks @rentmoney . I felt sad for you. I should be giving you the luv, beer and pizza though. As soon as I have enough I will be calling on the bots lol

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@samsmith1971, you've been given LUV from @rentmoney.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (2/5)


@samsmith1971! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @rentmoney.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)

It's not really about casually accepting this @rentmoney...

I really hope that people don't accept this as the norm around here... Culturally we need a friendlier more receptive Hive if this is going to be a safe place to invite our friends, family, and famous. Right down to how the blockchain is designed... we need to keep this in mind. Otherwise this is a doomed project.

To keep Hive marketable we actually need to evolve the processes we use to identify and deal with behaviors that are detrimental to the Blockchain and it's communities. How we human does matter. How we deal with our own does matter... especially from a systemic view.

If you read the #CometWeek White Paper... The 2nd from last section of the White Paper discusses why this is so important.

Outside eyes are watching what's happening inside the blockchain...

...and they are deciding if they want to be a part of what we are innovating here.

They are also deciding if they want to invite their friends, family, and famous here... Not to mention invest their money and build out their business ideas.

The marketability of Hive is at stake.

@Comet.Ranker and #CometWeek are a direct response (not a reactions!) to this problem that we are all dealing with on the blockchain.

THIS is the purple elephant in the room and I want to shine some Comet Light on it... Open things UP for a safe and constructive conversation about it.

We are all Hive Owners... and we need to realize that every action or inaction we take on this blockchain adds UP to something.

It's going to either take us UP or take us all down (with the exception of a few that is...)

Hi @samsmith1971! I wanted to tag you here so that you were included. I think this is that important. 🙂

This is some of the unfriendliness @Comet.Ranker and #CometWeek was designed to counter. The only way to truly make a difference is not to fight fire with fire... but to fight unfriendliness with friendliness.

With unfriendly actions and supporting infrastructure on the Hive Blockchain we will only find it increasingly difficult to attract outside people to this blockchain.

It is therefore one of our missions here at @Comet.Ranker to create a forum of discussion where other Hive Owners can openly discuss Hive's future and how we want to shape the social environment here. We simply can not win with these sort of practices in place and so this is critical to the future of this blockchain and our communities.

Thank you @samsmith1971 for bringing this particular situation with @rentmoney's recent raffle post to our attention as it informs us of who is doing what on this blockchain.

 

⚡️Congratulations! You now have 1 Comet Point in the ❗️ IMPACT Mission Category!⚡️


We are looking forward to seeing you shine in all the other mission categories! ***

👉⭕️ 🔺 ❗️ ❓ ❤️👈

Keep on bringing appreciation to the comments like your doing! 👍

For a friendlier and even more fun Hive,

the Comet Crew ☄️

*** Please Note! You can complete any of the #CometWeek Missions as many times as you like!

What an awesome initiative.

Keep up the great work.

!LUV
!BEER
!PIZZA
!ENGAGE

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@comet.ranker, you've been given LUV from @rentmoney.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/5)

@comet.ranker! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @rentmoney.

Did you know Pizzabot in Discord has a bunch of useful commands? (5/10)

Thank you @rentmoney. If you and @samsmith1971 would like to read a little more about what I am proposing to fix the downvote issues we are having here on Hive click over to this post. What I'm proposing is down in the comments and I believe that a friendly Hive is at stake. We need to address the problem systemically and collectively before it does serious damage to what we are all building. 👇
https://peakd.com/hive/@theycallmedan/a-bit-of-a-rant

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.