Sort:  

I have no clue what they're doing on Pinterest.

They "Pin" content = sites, services, photos, music, etc... very similar as StumbleUpon ...

So it's a link sharing platform. One would require a large following for those 'pins' to be consumed though, correct? I've seen the site show up in search results but it was confusing. Just a bunch of shit thrown together was my takeaway.

Well, whatever you take. When I started, I started collecting paintings, mostly psychedelic, then steampunk style, then I published my kaleidoscopes, in short, you're making a collection of something. But Pinterest is interesting because it is the platform that has the best click-through rate, or, of those who look at something there, many more decide to buy it than on other platforms. That is why there are now a lot of corporations promoting their brands there. And especially fashion, because there are far more women than men. Well, I read that in some analyses a few years ago... I don't know how it is now, but they are obviously doing well, I think.
Since we're debating, I went back to look at my profile after a year or two. Yeah, and I've been collecting infographics... I've been keeping it as a kind of repository. 😎

Hmmmm. That could be useful. But it requires building a following as well, correct?

It depends on what you want. if you want to have it as a repository you don't need followers because it's just for your own use, but if you want to make a name or a brand then you have to work on your following and offer your products ... classic marketing ...

Better off just driving traffic this way. Hopefully some folks start spreading just good quality normal content out like wildfire and it gets picked up and carried. Snowballs into something nice for everyone here. Classic social media distribution.