7,000 HIVE!!! We Need New Animal Names Specific to Hivers

in #hive4 years ago

I know we Hivers are a little bit shellshocked today from the big Upbit dump that crashed the price of the HIVE token. But we aren't even a month into this new blockchain and have already been listed on a top exchange like Bittrex. And as they say, the mouths of the crypto community are dirty with the name HIVE.

Just those two accomplishments alone take some crypto projects a year or more of community work and execution or a significant chunk of change or both. Here we are entering week 3 of this blockchain and we AS A COMMUNITY have earned these accomplishments. We should be very proud of ourselves!

For myself, I haven't been converting my STEEM into HIVE or anything and have already gotten my first milestone over here:

7,000 HIVE

Screen Shot 20200407 at 2.13.28 AM.png

I know a lot of people have a lot more HIVE than that. But for me I think it's quite an accomplishment. I honestly never imagined I would have that many of these "blog tokens" (of whatever stripe). I want to thank @khaleelkazi and the @steem.leo community for being so supportive this past year.

I also want to thank @theycallmedan for all of his wonderful initiatives and liberal updooting of lots of folks over here on HIVE. He could easily take the easy road and just self-vote himself over and over again with his whale stake, much like the early STEEM whales did back in the day. But he understands that what is needed is to promote a community that is knit together by a token to promote itself AS A WHOLE on other social media platforms outside of the one we currently exist on. Not a lot of people have correctly grasped this phenomenon of not only crypto but digital social media marketing in general. We make the pie bigger TOGETHER.

For the rest of my post, I'd like to suggest some names for token landmarks. In STEEM World, we had Minnow, Dolphin, Whale, etc. I honestly can't remember all the names and their associated thresholds. Perhaps @taskmaster4450 would grace us with a nice comment below that has the details. But whatever they are, it doesn't mean that we have to carry them over to this new HIVE World! In fact, we could make it a community thing!

I'll start.

Instead of minnows, we have honey bees (of course).

At 1,000 HIVE, you become a carpenter bee.

At 7,000 HIVE, you become a hornet. (I'm just picking this number because that's where I'm at now. And I'm picking Hornet, because that was my team when I was a kid!)

image.png

At 25,000 HIVE, you could become a dragonfly.

At 50,000 HIVE, you become this bad ass mamma jamma: a scorpion fly.

image.png

Dude is baller. But would not want to meet up with him in the wild.

And on and on... I hope you get my drift. But we should definitely make this a community initiative!

How 'bout it?

Sort:  

Good idea!
I think scorpion fly is too much of a mouthful, doesn't have the ring of whale...
I was thinking something like the heirarchy within a bee hive, like drone, worker, soldier, royal.

Great idea! I didn't even think about that! Instead of whale, people with lots of HIVE tokens can be called Queen Bees! Or, if that strikes people as too feminine, maybe Killer Bees?

I've never seen a scorpion fly before. I definitely don't want to see one in real life.

I'd never seen or heard of that thing until I was looking for some different insects that might be appropriate to the tiered levels. But I definitely hope that it stays firmly in the realm of fiction for me!

Interesting idea, but a whale was a very large holder of crypto before steem adopted it and then subdivided it. So using steems hierarchy may not be such a big deal in terms of differentiating ourselves from them. Just a thought...

Need to think more out of the box than that, JD!