Warning: There’s A New Scam To Steal Your Hive Account

in #hive4 years ago

Dear Hivers,

A new scam is making the rounds on Discord. It is important that you know this. And it is important that you protect your account from it.

So if you are receiving a private message from anyone on Discord, avoid at all costs. You will also be asked to download a new Hive wallet.

It's a scam designed to steal your details.

Do. Not. Entertain. This.

And if you do? You lose your Hive account. Your funds. And your sleep.

This Is A Clever Scam


Because our scammer, blinded by greed, is impersonating Hive. They have flooded the server — via fake bots. And they are calling this a "mandatory" wallet update.

20200415_234334.png

This is the message entering your inbox. Best to be cautious.

Although we may spot this scam – most won't. Because the message disguises as an "update" fixing potential vulnerabilities.

What can you do?


For now, @alts-david has already updated the Discord channel with the message:

PaperBoatOcean.png

In short: Ignore direct messages.

Another way to avoid this scam is to stop direct messages. From your Discord account, you can turn off unwanted messages by doing this:

  1. Go to your Discord account
  2. Click on User Settings -> Privacy & Safety
  3. Turn OFF direct messages

Thanks @crimsonclad for the tip!

Overall, as Hive grows, we will continue to witness such scams designed to steal our account.

Be careful, everyone!

Cheers,
Sid


Liked this article? Feel free to comment and upvote and reblog.

Sort:  

Thanks for saving the day @ats-david!

All in a day's work. I do whatever I can for the good of Hive. I'm here to serve the community. I just want to do my part.

Other cliches...

starts playoff music

He literally is Hive's Batman!

Thanks for writing this up @sidwrites and for the heads-up @ats-david!

Always remember, that whenever something screams "security fix" it's probably fake. Especially if it's coming from an untrusted source.

PS: Message to whoever is behind this phishing scam


Least I could do. Appreciate your support.

Always remember, that whenever something screams "security fix" it's probably fake.

Point.

And yes, my DMs are open for that bot – and for this GIF:

wolfofwallstreet-leodicaprio-middlefingers.jpg

Thanks for bring this to the communities attention. Could this be JS trying to undermine Hive.

Hahah!

I really hope and wish JS confesses this 30 years down the line!

This is why we can't have nice things.

Oh well.

Success attracts haters. Nice things attracts scammers.

That is so damn true. A better point could not have been made today.

Just got this DM 30 mins ago! I didn't know what to do with it. Now I know what to do with it. Click [X]

Beautifully said.

The terrible English and grammar give this one away lol. If I got this message or something similar the first thing I would do would be check out the Hive blog. Anything offical goes on there

Thanks for warning @sidwrites

Thanks for sharing this. Yes, we keep getting similar scams on Discord. We can't help much. But I wouldn't restrict my DM fearing all these scams. I don't want to prevent unknown people from contacting me, instead, I would prefer not to get caught to these scams by staying wise.

thanks for immediate information, it's helpful for us not to be scammed. Thanks @ats-david.

When you search for Spec256/Zg like in their fake announcement... the first thing google responds is... FAKE! LOL

Very well contained.

This I did not know. I'm pretty suspicious of these things, though. Thank you for this information. I'll pass it on to others.

Many thanks for this info and the heads-up

@ats-david is HIVE batman !!! .... thanks

Thanks for the heads up I will get the word to a few friends that I don't think are aware.

Thank you for sharing the information and prevent the community from getting scam. Thank you. 😇

Thanks for the heads up 😊