State of the Fork. (monthly update). "Happy one month anniversary all."

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

Comparison stats.

Got some stats out of a comparison between Steemit and Hive.
I thought some of you might find them interesting so there you go.
I plan to do an update every month and compare traffic data and more about where we stand as a social media platform.

Is there anything else you might be interested to see that I miss here? Let me know in the comments.


At some screenshots you will get 2 of the same boards the one includes data from March till today (So hive will lag behind because we are just 1 month old, expect more accurate data coming next month) and the other for the last 28 days. Whenever is the case it clearly shows a percentage growth. I expect that to get bigger as the time goes by.

social traffic.PNG

category distribution.PNG

total visits.PNG

engagement.PNG

engagent 28days.PNG

top 5 countries last 28 days..PNG

total refferal visits feb-march.PNG

refferal last 28 days.PNG

There is a long way to go But what is really interesting to notice is the engagements charts people does seem to be way more active on Hive than they are on steemit in both 3 catogories that matter: Visit duration, pages/visit, and bounce rate which is a good indicator that is signaling a very positive growth rate for the months ahead. If people spend and invest that much time here chances are the will get way more onboard.
Something like a virus behavour if R0>1 then we will be fine, we will spread around from mouth to mouth. Also check the twitter traffic, what's up with that Hivers?

Anyhow it is way to soon for conclusions but I am positive we will be heads to heads with Steemit as long as we keep get to work.

Upvote good content Find and curate honest creators. Give a reason to the whales to support you. I am sure they know their best interest lies there in the long run.

Stay strong and be Hive.

Yours truly.

Sort:  

It's really cool to see, those 1 minutes visit on steemit is just us who goes there for a power down transfer lol.

You should include other major sites such as peakD. I think most people on hive are using that as their browser. I have not even been on hive.blog yet

Already noted for the next update as more people requested the same thing. Thanks for the feedback mate.

Interesting comparison and data.

One thing I might add would be to use statistics from more than one interface for each blockchain. Last I checked (a long time ago) Steemit was the most popular frontend for the Steem blockchain, but is hive.blog even the most used frontend for the Hive blockchain? I know I started using Peakd.com when I switched, and there's a myriad of different interfaces.

That low number for Hive in the total visits category could just be a sign that people are using more different interfaces. This would be a sign of greater decentralization of Hive over Steem, which is what we'd like to see.

I was surprised to see how much more attention Hive gets on Twitter by your reckoning, especially in contrast to the rest of the seemingly Steem dominated platforms.

It seems that Hivers are actively promoting the platform on twitter way more than they do on steemit, thats a good thing for growth eventually.

I used similar web do you have any other recommendations for traffic data?
I think you are right about the interfaces. I should have included peakd in the data as well I guess.

For now the data are not that surprising I just want to see how the turn out will be in a 6 month from now. but I started this as a means to get a reference point when the time comes to calculate the growth.

Thanks for the feedback.

I have no recommendations for where to get traffic data. I've never really tried to before.

I don't even really know how much traffic PeakD gets, but something tells me that under new ownership Steemit Inc. is going to leverage massive resouces to pull users specifically to Steemit.com over any other blockchain interface.

It would be interesting to see the relative shares of each interface for each blockchain, perhaps in a pie chart. I'd estimate that for Steem Steemit.com would have the largest slice, maybe even a majority, alongside a bunch of tiny slivers for each other interface. Maybe we'd see more equal slices for Hive, and I wonder what the plurality would turn out to be.

My emotions are mixed I actively got on steemit so many people during the first 2.5 years of its birth I went out to the streets, I was handing flyers. Talking about it to everyone who was willing to chat about tech.

I really feel crossed by @ned and his general behaviour with steems stake for over 1 year and not just by the sale out to Justin. But I will not let that get me down. It is a new era and I am looking forward. We can't change the past so there is that. I should have seen the red flags sooner.

Nice :)

This one looks telling, lots of shit-post and run?

image.png

it does speaks volume doesn't it :) Well pages per visit 1.7 half visit at the home page if any 1 at their page and another half at their wallets.

That is what I do these days.

Yeah, create post and head to wallet for me. Some likely just opening the wallet page. Should be interesting to track over the coming months.