You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Downside of Downvotes

in #hive3 years ago

Essentially one vote vetos all the other votes

If you look at how these large payouts are generated it is almost always the case that the bulk of the rewards comes from one or a few big accounts. Your notion that masses of minnows are all voting for a big reward and then one evil whale comes and takes it all away is not accurate.

Sort:  

Agreed, at the same time you pretend as if your vote is the same as mine or 100 of me for that matter, why should a big account like you care if a small account earned some extra rewards? Why can't you answer that? Again you are hung up on rewards a downvote does not only impact the rewards it impacts who sees this content on Hive, downvoting it can make it less visible so you're hit with the double whammy.

I never once mentioned that a big whale comes in and takes it all way, I said a big whale overrides what the rest of the community aside from the one account downvoting has valued that content to be.

I said a big whale overrides what the rest of the community aside from the one account downvoting has valued that content to be.

Except that's not true. The rest of the community usually has very little to do with the large rewards. It's usually one or a small number of large accounts doing that. Why do you think it is more legitimate for one large account to suck up a large portion of the reward pool and assign it to one post? That's actually in conflict with a large amount of other smaller reward activity throughout the community (any very large reward takes away from all the smaller ones, since they all come out of the same pool).

There is no coherent reasoning that makes upvotes (which take from other payouts) whether large or small more legitimate than downvotes (which give back to other payouts) whether large or small. It's all just voting.

why should a big account like you care if a small account earned some extra rewards?

To be honest I don't even pay attention to whether the account receiving the rewards is large or small, and I don't think it matters. I'm sure it happens both ways. I look at the rewards and whether I think they represent a good use of Hive's reward pool and then express my opinion and prerogative as a stakeholder through voting. When I downvote, the rewards that don't get generated on that post as a result end up going to other posts by other accounts, large and small (but a great many small, in practice).

There is no free lunch on excessive payouts.

do you look at the content or is it all about numbers

I look at the content every time I vote on something. I have no automated votes at this point. Everything is manual using my own eyeballs.

Your still working on the false notion that my upvote is worth the same as your downvote

I never suggested that at all. There are many community members with different stakes. When they choose to vote (up or down) on a post their votes are added up and then the reward is computed and paid out. No one "overrides" anyone else, all the votes are added up.

Sorta talking past each other here, I completely hear you when you say that all the votes are computed it's just that yours is worth more so it has more of an impact. I just can't wrap my mind around why anyone would want to downvote someone else's work because they think it is overvalued, like why clip their wings if you want hive to grow? I know it balances the reward pool, but it also makes that post less visible. So if big accounts went around doing this they could be controlling what people see on Hive, what is decentralized about that?

Your notion that masses of minnows are all voting for a big reward and then one evil whale comes and takes it all away is not accurate.

...try and reconcile that statement with this reality
The @lucylin account .

hahahahahah.

This comment will age really well across the internet ...(And I will be using it).

Do you not understand the piss poor reputation hive has, because of these behaviors?
Probably not, the hive echo chamber doesn't like to let reality intrude.

I would say 'good luck with your authoritarian, commie/technocratic, project'... but that would be a lie.