What are some settings new players should consider changing when setting up a new account?

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

Hey friends,

I initially wanted to make a post about completing my quest today but because I completed my quest so late last night I still have a few hours to go before I could even have a new quest given to me.

It’s not a problem though, because I wanted to make a post about a couple of settings that I recommend all players at least review and make the decision on if they want to turn on right after creating a new account.

I didn’t even know this menu existed for a little while so for anybody else that hasn’t had the time to click around on everything just yet this might be helpful for you as well.

When you click on your profile name you’ll see a menu that says settings and once you click that the screen appears.

Screen Shot 2021-09-21 at 12.38.21 PM.png

These are the settings that I commonly have set up for my account. Mute all sounds does what it says it dies, and just makes everything quiet for playing the game. I find this helpful so I can just listen to my background music (plus the sounds are a little loud as well)

Require active authority for transferring assets out of your account

The setting that says require active authority for transferring assets out of your account is one that I turn on as well, I do this because I have my posting key to my splinterlands account and it actually makes me have to sign a transaction on the block chain whenever I am sending cards out of my account. I find this helpful because it prevents anybody that gets into my splinterlands account from being able to transfer anything out of my account unless they also have access to my hive account.

Wait to reveal team until opponent has submitted theirs

This is perhaps the most useful setting for new players. What this does is it prevents the other person that you’re playing from being able to see what cars you chose during the choose a team phase of beginning a match. The setting is enabled by default for tournament and challenge battles but now you can have it turned on for all of your battles!

This is now one of the first things I tell somebody when they create a new account and I hope it helps you as well.

What’s the first tip you usually give somebody when they get into this game, leave a comment below and if I get over 10 comments I’ll give away 25DEC randomly to one comment.

Thanks for reading and don't forget to follow and upvote if you found this useful!

splinterlands divider.png

I sometimes post on these sites as well

Stream:

Blog: https://peakd.com/@sovstar

Videos: https://odysee.com/@sovstar

dBuzz https://d.buzz/#/@sovstar