You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Game Theory Behind Speculator Fees

in #hive3 years ago

Hey @theycallmedan,

I like the idea of an instant power down fee. I think there needs to be some flexible in regards to how much someone wants to instantly power down. For example, a person may only want to power down half their stake. Therefore, the 10% fee should be based on the amount desired to be powered down and not the full amount staked.

I understand the logic of the powering up fee and I see how it could greatly benefit anyone who wishes to remain powered up for a significant time. However, I think the fee will discourage people powering up, especially new investors who are still unsure about Hive and how long they want to be invested. I don’t believe speculators will be interested in powering up, as they are unlikely to remain powered up long enough to cover the 5% + 10% fees.

The fee on liquid rewards makes sense. Choosing 100% HP should produce a higher reward, as it has a cost of less liquidity. A fee would balance things out. When HBD is above $1, there is no incentive to choose 100% HP, as rewards are lower than when they are split 50/50. Fingers crossed HBD pegging problems can be fixed.

In summary, I’m in favour of the 10% power down fee and the 10% fee on liquid rewards. I’m not in favour of the 5% power up fee.

In regards to duration of power down

I think 13 weeks power down is rather long. I think many people are powering down because of this duration and want to be able to cash out some of what they have accumulated over the past years. I think 6 weeks would be an improvement. For example, someone may only want to want to sell 1/3rd of their stake; a 6 week power down would enable them to do that in just 2 weeks.

Sort:  

For example, a person may only want to power down half their stake. Therefore, the 10% fee should be based on the amount desired to be powered down and not the full amount staked.

I guess it was understood that the fee only implies to the amount being powered down. Not to the full hive power. Thanks for you feedback. :)

I mentioned it because from what I gathered from conversations people seem focused on full power downs. In reality, people are likely to only want to sell part of their stake rather than all of it. An instant power down function should accommodate that.

Ya, the 5% power up fee is not very popular. Which is good to know. I still like it in theory but in practice, it may not work as I thought. This is why I like brainstorming out loud with the community. Thanks for the feedback.