You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alternatives to Big Tech - Presidential Censorship Edition

in #hive3 years ago

That's an interesting list you've put together. I find myself using many of these apps, but the various products only partially meet the requirements I've built up based on their competitors. I'm very happy with Brave and Protonmail, though in the end I'm not so sure about Protonmail to what extent I can trust them. It's also been a while since I had looked into it. Either way, I guess it's an upgrade when I compare it to the service I was using before.

I have been using DuckDuckGo conditionally for 2 years now. There are instances when I am quite satisfied with the search engine, however, there are also some instances when I search in vain and end up having to use google before I get to my destination.

As for social networks, I'm not so optimistic yet. This is all still in the early stages and doesn't necessarily offer the added value I would like to gain from a network yet. For the crypto area quite alright, if you also deal with other sources. For topics outside of this area, however, only very moderate to use. That can change, of course, when time brings new users.

In terms of gaming, the whole thing doesn't look so rosy yet. As an old gamer, I don't think it's an alternative yet. Even Splinterlands, which is probably one of the most complex games here, is not comparable to modern games in my opinion and is more of a throwback to 2010. But even here, a lot is still in its infancy, so you can wait with anticipation for the development.

All in all, I would say that the alternative can't keep up with the top dog yet, but a development in this direction would be absolutely welcome.

P.S. Nobody around me uses telegram, so I did not have any use for it. Same with signal.

Sort:  

Take another look at both Telegram and Signal. You'll find a lot more people you know using it than 6 months ago, or even a week ago.
My Signal and Telegram are going wild with new contacts joining since Trump was censored.
Signal is the #1 App on the App Stores.

Here in the country, people tend to be slow on the uptake when it comes to stories like this. Roughly speaking, I wouldn't even reach 10% of my contacts via said applications. But I still have hope that things will change.