Follow Friday: Ho Ho Ho

in #hive2 years ago

The News

It is that most wonderful time of the year, so I have been out at an office lunch and may have had a couple of beers. That means this post is a little later than usual.

Prices

$HIVE is still on a gradual upwards trend. I saw lots of people power up this week, but that volume of buying may still be a minor glitch on the general speculation that goes on.

A cool new dapp this week is Veews from @jongolson and his team. This is a content discovery system based on some you may have seen before, but it shows Hive posts based on some tags you choose and then it learns as you give each a thumbs up/down. The rewards vote you give is independent of that.

I also heard about Kolony that gives a very minimal interface to Hive, but it is giving me some errors when I click on anything.

Meetups

@tdctunes is playing a gig in London on December 15th and proposes that people meet up at the venue beforehand for chats about Hive as well as just meeting fellow Hivers. It looks like a few people will be there.

@demotruk will be in Dublin at the end of the month and has some people interested in meeting up.

Friday Follows

  • I noticed a couple of people come back to Hive after a break. @paulag is an educator on blockchain among other topics. She organised some Zoom calls a while back that I participated in. It would be cool to have more virtual meetups where we can chat.
  • @hilarski is a crypto fan over in Panama. I met him and his wife at Steemfest a few years back. He was away from Hive for a while, but is posting again now.
  • @new.things is a fellow runner from Australia who has been on travels in New Zealand where he met up with a fellow Hiver.
  • @killerwot has been busy playing gigs with his band, writing stories and working on a Hive movie script. He also managed a nice power up this month.

These people get a share of the post rewards.

The End

This can be a busy time for many people and a time to think about how the year has gone. I would suggest that you keep posting on Hive and maybe spend some time talking to people about it whilst you are together over the holidays. It would be great to see lots of new users next year.

I will be producing the #Britlist tomorrow. I hope the numbers will be up this time.

Hive five!

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention Steve. Being a Hive tourist is as much fun as being a parkrun tourist.
!BEER

I was just reading about some people who have done over 800 parkruns. I may never get to that. I know you have done a lot. Getting to other locations is not so easy, but I will try to do more of the local ones next year.

!BEER

Awesome stuff! That is pretty cool that you can have a couple of beers at lunch and still be able to come back to work. They would probably frown on that here in the public education system! :) It's great to see people finding their way back to Hive.

Maybe I should have said that we don't generally work on Friday afternoons, so I was not going back to the office. We had our meal then went to the pub over the road, but I'd had enough beer. It was a late night yesterday.

!BEER

Ah, okay! That is fun! We get Friday's off for about a month in the summer, but that is about it.

I had this sort of working week years ago when I worked in Germany. It extends the weekend a bit at the cost of just working a little longer on other days.

I really enjoy it. Especially in the summer when we have a lot of camping trips planned.

Great review of the news! I like that it is compact and about the most important things! 💪
!PIZZA

Always a good post to see who is about!

Cheers Steve - I'm looking forward to seeing you again and meeting some more Hivers on the 15th!

What are the errors Kolony complained about? I’ll take a look when I can.

I just get this when I click on anything. I am using Brave on Linux.

image.png

Thank you!

Edit: this has been fixed. Thanks again!

Looking good now. I know how hard development can be.

!BEER

Hope you had a nice work lunch. Ours next week. I’d be up for some zoom sessions during the winter months, just every now and again.

Will check out the apps they sound handy.

Veews looks like a promising dApp! Thanks for sharing.
Also good to see old accounts active again. I took a hiatus myself, but I’m looking to be more active as well. 👍

Hey, we all need a break sometimes. Hope Hive stays fun for you.

!BEER

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@stdd(9/10) tipped @steevc (x1)

Join us in Discord!