Follow Friday: Thanks

in #hivelast year

The News

Happy Thanksgiving to our colonial friends.

Prices

There are signs of some recovery from the latest crypto crash. $HBD got back to the peg pretty quickly. I still wonder why the 'blue site' has any value.

I had been using Hypestat to see how Hive sites are doing. Some of the statistics around countries were a bit suspicious. There is also Similarweb which shoes Venezuela as the biggest country for Peakd. That sounds realistic, but the general site ranking is really low. We need a bit of SEO. It should help if people link in from other places.

There was news that @splinterlands have had to reduce their staff. The low crypto prices will hit a lot of projects that rely on income from usage. Most Hive dapps are not carrying advertising, so they do not have that income.

There will be a Hive meetup in London next month. @tdctunes has a gig in Brick Lane and we can meet at the venue beforehand. This is just providing a place for people to meet and talk with no special events that I know of, but it can still be valuable. I find that in-person conversations can be very informative as well as putting faces to names. Anyone can set up an event like this if they can find a suitable location. Let me know and I will advertise it.

My @proofofbrian bot has informed over 500 people of tag typos. It was just created for fun, but I hope it makes people think about checking their tags. I used the beem Python library to create it.

I have been playing around with Mastodon as an alternative to Twitter. I prefer open platforms and a fair few people I followed have moved over. I tried posting a poll on attitudes to cryptocurrency. It seems they are no so into it over there.

Friday Follows

These people get a share of the post rewards.

The End

I did not do a #FollowFriday post last week as I was busy responding to another post that got a load of feedback.

I will be producing a new #BritList next weekend, so let me know of anyone I may have missed. I have found a few more people to add this month.

Hive five!

The man behind: @tenkminnows: Helping good Hivers level up

@proofofbrian: A bot that checks for tag typos

#BritList: A monthly list of Hivers in the UK

Sort:  

Thanks for the support and shout out @steevc Will you be attending the London meetup?

I plan to be there when I can. It's been a while since we had one.

I'm up for it. I'll see you there 🎶🎸👍🏼

As a NaPoPoMo alumni, it's great to see your supportive post of this years hardy group of podcast challengers.

Cool reporting, man, I always feel quite abreast after reading your Friday Follows. It's nothing like feeling on a breast but it's still cool 🌚.

There's so much that goes on here and nobody sees it all. I just try to provide a useful service.

!BEER

True. That's great!

Thanks for the mention! 🤙

Cheers for the mention Steve - looks like we will have a good gathering on the 15th - I'm looking forward to meeting more UK Hivers!

I would like to think we are in recovery mode for crypto.. but time will tell. Yeah, a belated happy Thanksgiving.

A few more names for RandomVoter, I still need to run your other script, thanks for that!

No problem. Together we can do cool stuff.