Follow Friday: You'd better watch out...

in #hivelast year

The News

Yes, Christmas is fast approaching. Enjoy all the festivities whilst sparing a thought for those who will be struggling.

A large aspect of Hive is about giving. You can support people with upvotes on their posts. Be sure to spread it around. You could use Veews to find posts you may have missed. Do not forget to use your voting power on proposals and witnesses too. That is your say in deciding who gets funded for their projects and for keeping the blockchain going.

Prices

I hope we will see improvements in at least some of the crypto prices next year. $HIVE deserves to do a lot better. Do your bit by adding value in terms of posts, value and promotion.

@guiltyparties is putting together a list of where you can spend your earnings. Let him know any that are missing.

Meetups

I am hearing about a few upcoming Hive meetups that you may want to attend:

Friday Follows

  • @gideonreeling are a theatrical group from London who just joined up thanks to help from @stickupboys.
  • @c0ff33a just got into Rising Star and is running a competition to win some cards. You need to get in quick for that.
  • @robpye is based in London and is part of an organisation looking to do cool things with social media. Hive could be part of that.
  • @brittandjosie has come over from the Netherlands to London and has been checking out some posh toilets.

People mentioned get a share of the post rewards.

The Naughty List

I do not have anyone to mention this time, but keep your eyes out for those trying to cheat the Hive system for ill-gotten gains. Also beware of nefarious phishing links trying to steal your keys. Never give your keys to a site you are not very sure about. Most should be using Keychain or Hivesigner which will not pass keys on to dapps.

The End

Will you be giving the gift of Hive this Christmas? It may be a good time to talk to friends and family about how they could benefit from it. If you can claim account vouchers then you could set them up for free and then delegate some HP or RC to them so they can be active.

Have a good time whatever you do.

Hive five!

Sort:  

Will you be giving the gift of Hive this Christmas?

Nowadays my upvote is worth around $0.01 USD and $0.03 USD, depending on my voting power. Not much, but I am happily giving it on various posts/comments.

Merry Christmas.

It still matters. Use it on posts so it does not get lost on comments. Best not to let the voting power drop too low. I keep mine above 80% so it can charge back up to full.

!BEER

Usually I also keep my voting power above 80%, but recently I voted with 100% voting strength many times, and my voting power is currently 40.31%. I have to wait almost three days to recharge it.

Is there still a minimum amount that comment upvotes have to meet to beat the dust threshold? $0.03 if I remember right?

As I currently know, the dust threshold is $0.02 USD, and it applies to posts too, not only to comments.

Ok thanks for that

Posh I love it !, even on toilets hahahha but Apparently I was in London a week to early ! @tdctunes maybe I can catch next time.
I always talk about hive but I guess I am not that convincing.

Thanks for giving me a share that’s a w as eet early Christmas present

Awww hope to meet up with you another time! Next time you are going to be in London let me know and we will make the meetup when you are here!

I am planning to be back soon

I was messing around with Veews today and I noticed that a lot of the posts it is showing me are coming from a community I had not heard of before. Someeofficial. It appears to be just photos with a sentence if that. Something like an Instagram clone. I don't quite know. Have you noticed that?

I saw that too. I am not sure how Somee works, but it obviously stores posts on the Hive blockchain. There is no mention of that on their site and the login does not involve keys. That makes me wonder if they are storing keys for everyone. Their main account has been downvoted to a low rep. I see this post from when they migrated from Steem to Hive. I get concerned by dapps that hide the fact they use Hive. People should know they have more options.

!BEER

It looks like they have their own token. SME. It sounds like it is something aggro tried to help onboard. It reminds me a lot of Actifit where there were countless people using the app with zero clue they were tied to a blockchain and all the other things available to them.

A lot of meetups coming up but sadly wont be able to go to any.
I checked out the list from guilty. I love the idea and I mentioned one organisation I think could be on the list.

You could always organise your own meetup. Even if it's just two people it counts and can be fun. Just find a time and place. Let me know and I'll share it.

!BEER

Congratulations @steevc! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 54000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 56000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 1
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
 last year  Reveal Comment