You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ned Scott was right about one thing

in #hive3 years ago

I think a lot of this stuff goes over the heads of most users and I don't get it all. Having two tokens tends to cause confusion. People only care that they earn something that they can sell for fiat or whatever and that counts as money to them. Trying to maintain one at a fixed value means there has to be some manipulation going on, even if it's supposed to be automated. What would be the consequences of scrapping HBD?

Sort:  

In my opinion, there is vastly, vastly more for Hive to gain by successfully having a stablecoin than the costs. I would go so far as to say that scrapping it would be one of the stupidest things we could do.

In fact, greater volatility in Hive is itself a gain - higher volatility generally also means more profit. Volatility is only a big problem if you're trying to use it as money or if you have a short term outlook.

It's not just a stablecoin we are getting, but a basic DeFi implementation along with it.

I consider myself among those who don't really get it. I do, however, get "7% interest" and stablecoin. It makes me pause and think about where to park cash. In the long-run, it could potentially lead to a higher market cap for Hive thanks to people who may have no interest in the blogging or curation. In fact, some of the protections coded into Hive to protect against hostile investors may be a selling point for protecting your money.