You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why comments matter

in #hive2 years ago

Leading questions definitely encourage responses. Do you agree? ;) Controversy can too.

There's plenty of potential for posts that are all about feedback, e.g. asking for help on something. Then the poster can reward the useful comments. Would be cool to have something like Stack Overflow that actually pays.

!BEER

Sort:  

If Hive ever becomes a Forum, I'm off, running for the hills screaming. 🤣

I've always said it can be more than one thing. Not everyone is a blogger.

I think this is where the confusion creeps in. It's hard to separate the fact for example I'm NOT on Hive I'm on Ecency what I write on Ecency is committed to Hive so therefore the same can be said (As you say) for everything else 3speak, splinterlands and MyShittyForum interestingly the solution actually creates a problem. We should stop talking about Hive and talk about the Dapp of choice but that then fosters a sense of tribalism and also means that people could start saying "What the hell is Hive?"

Well I can see anything posted in ecency on peakd, so why does it matter? I do think we need to emphasise Hive branding so people realise there are other dapps. I'm not convinced all Splinterlands players realise there is a blogging platform too.

BECAUSE each group, splinterlands, peakd, 3speak, Ecency tends to stick with its own (Tribalism), For example. I often have to cut-n-paste URLs into eceny to look at posts because I don't want the ball ache of logging into peaked, which is where nine times out of ten hyperlinks from notifications take me. So when we talk about Splinterlands, we're not talking about Hive, just a 'thing' that happens to communicate with Hive. What we really need is a fusion of all these dapps. I'm starting to think the same mistake is being made as is made on FOSS in that everyone makes their own version which ultimately waters down the overall success of the objective. It's that old argument about Choice. People should never be given too many choices; otherwise, they will muck it all up by making unnessacey demands.

Too much choice can be a problem, but we don't want to rely on just one site. I think there are browser extensions that translate dapp links to go to your preferred one.