You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Follow Friday - Hope in sight?

in #hive4 years ago

I'm not sure how reliable that visitor number is. We know that only a few thousand people actually use Hive, but maybe links around the web bring people here. Peakd gets less visitors, but other stats showing it may have more active users. Active users are what really matters and we have a lot of work to do there.

I hear you helped recruit some of these people. Do you have any secrets on how to do that effectively? I've talked about Steem/Hive to lots of people. A few joined, but few are still active. I know part of it is lack of audience, but others are uneasy about the lack of central control.

Sort:  

We have a private group on FB where I've answered questions on how to get going with Hive. PeakD for me has been by far a better solution and is what Flickr should have evolved in to. The idea that PeakD is a paid replacement for Flickr was my tack for selling the idea.

The biggest problem I encountered was to make the whole thing user friendly and easier to explain to get their heads around the concept of gaining a reward for social media interaction.

The main topics / queries were:

  • Where does the money come from?
  • Explaining Hive economics
  • Getting an account in the first place was difficult for new non-techy users
  • Hivewatcher bot alienated new users and put them off altogether, not a very democratic solution
  • No-one I've spoken to cares about lack of central control

One way I could see this gaining traction is to actually advertise on other platforms if it was allowed. It would take a bunch of witnesses to join together and actually pay for the advertising and they wouldn't necessarily gain from it...

There are various tutorials out there, but they need to be linked from peakd and hive.blog so anyone can find them. The community ought to be able to put something together. Can include videos and needs to be in other languages too.

The anti-plagiarism and other anti-abuse projects need to be responsive and not put good people off. That has been an issue. I have worked with the people around @steemflagrewards. People make us aware of abuse and we can individually choose to deal with it. It's important to have some sort of verification that your account is genuine such as a link from another site or a photo/video proving your ID.

Using HiveOnboard (with your own referral link) makes it fairly easy to create an account, but I can create them for people too as I have done many times. I will delegate to newbies to start them off.

Not having a central company means raising funds for ads is tricky. There is a marketing effort looking at options around @hivepeople.

Have a !BEER


Hey @fastchrisuk, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

It's astonishing how many ask where the money comes from. I guess that's because people are so weary of Internet scams these days.

I think you need to come up to Halifax and @c0ff33a's get together to teach us how to get people on here. I have a real hard time, you seem to have the magic touch. I am more than happy to help Urbex people, but they are just not interested, even with the promise of $$.