Sort:  

Well said!

I know, concerning the number of upvotes I am also privileged compared to many others, but concerning real engagement in the comment sections of my posts I also have experienced better times! Nowadays people leave their upvote (take curation reward), and then consider their job as done (only if HIVE itself is the topic, engagement is a little bit higher). :)

In my last post I am trying to promote a HIVE soccer tipster competition, and before publishing it I wondered if the maximal allowed number of 300 participants would be enough ... but so far only six HIVE users have joined! :) Of course not everyboday is interested in predicting soccer results, but I guess that the other reason for the (so far) very low number of participants is that the majority of upvoters just didn't read my post ...

Part of the problem is the small community. For a lot of interests there is just not much of an audience. BTW I'm not a soccer fan. We need to build on what communities we have and not focus quite so much on rewards. Of course some people are desperate for any rewards, but a lot of us can play the long game to try to make Hive more attractive. We need to reach some critical mass where it's a go-to destination.

We need to reach some critical mass where it's a go-to destination.

Sure, but to reach that aim we must discuss our problems to improve and become more attractive for new users ... and I think we are just doing that (for example) here.

I don't think the masses care that much about details of the rewards system. They are happy to make anything, but real engagement has value too.

I don't think the masses care that much about details of the rewards system.

They don't care about the mathematics/the mechanics behind it ... but they do care about the results!

And of course they wonder about the rewards generated with posts like this, this or this one.

The frequency of this type of overvalued posts depends for example on exactly that stuff which we are discussing here.