You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TGI Friday (17/9/2021) - Great People, Great Posts, Some HBI shares and a Vacuum Cleaner!

in #hive3 years ago

Modern appliances do not seem designed to last and depending on batteries makes it worse as those are likely to fail. Things are not easy to fix either. I think Dyson at least make a lot of spares available, but then you pay the premium. We bought a Dualit toaster recently in hope it will last forever as you can buy spare elements and other parts. It's made in the UK too.

Happy Friday!

!PIZZA !LUV

Sort:  

I'd happily buy a Dyson in the UK for exactly those reasons but here they are double the price! This clone is quite a big name in SE Asia and I was really happy with it. Easy to get replacement brushes, filters etc. But I paid about £130 for it so having to buy another battery costing £75 which might pack-up again in a few months is not happening. Screw drivers and multimeter will be out at the weekend or failing that, I'll bodge something but the voltage is a bizarre 29.6 volts!
I will buy a Dyson in UK if I can get home for Christmas.
As for Dualit, I gave mine to my brother when I left 10 years ago. I'd had it 10 years and it's still going strong. Quality is worth paying for if possible.
Have a great weekend Steve :-)


Hey @nathen007, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I think Dyson moved most stuff to the Far East now. I've gone off them for Mr Dyson's attitude to this country. We do have a Henry vacuum which is made here, but I think we may get a battery one of some sort. They just seem convenient. I quite like the idea of a robot one, but will have to look into the options.

Cheers and !BEER

@nathen007! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@nathen007, you've been given LUV from @steevc.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/3)