Best Post of the Day - A First Time for Everything

in #hive4 months ago

Yesterday I got a surprising note of something I had always believed to be way out of reach... so much so that I didn't even think it was realistic: I was awarded the best post of the day, that is to say the post that generated most upvotes... out of ALL the posts published on the Hive blockchain. To be quite honest, I still don't know how I did it, but I believe my speculations are not entirely unfounded, so I'd like to share them with you here, in case you were thinking about shooting for this goal yourself.

image.png

Am I Getting Trendy?

Way back, when I started blogging on the old chain, there used to be a menu on top, where you could sort through the posts that were NEW and TRENDING. Occasionally I took a glance at it, and my impression was always the same: those posts had more than just a simple blogger behind them. A professional photographer (if not a camera team), a sexy young girl as a presenter, exotic and expensive tourist destinations, but most importantly, some mighty whales, who were just as interested in keeping that blog trending!

So naturally, I never assumed it to be realistic that I should be soaring on those levels. Instead, I wanted to keep blogging for myself, and those followers that were genuinely interested in what I had to share. After all, there seemed to be enough of them, and the community only kept growing, and forming new communities. And that way of thinking is where I remained until yesterday.

A Thousand Votes... Is That All You Need?

When I got the notification yesterday, I had just over 1k of upvotes, the rest came in afterwards. Hold on, that's actually not that many! In other words, I have been there before. I'm not going to scroll back now to find those highly successful posts that didn't get me an award... or even a notification of how close I had come to one. Still, I always figured that there were more votes cast on the whole blockchain than that! Maybe they were back then. Maybe things are more diluted nowadays. Maybe yesterday's participation was unusually low. Maybe there are a bunch of other factors involved that I have not even thought about. In any case, I am quite happy about this. After six and a half years on the blockchain and more than a thousand posts published it gives me a new boost of enthusiasm.

So What's the Secret Recipe?

Again, I have no concrete facts, only my own reasoning. What was the thing about this post that made it stand out? Well, first of all there is the right topic in the right community. You may have noticed that certain subjects tend to generate more interest than others (no matter how interesting or important other topics may be). Things that seem to be a recipe for success are art and travel. Interestingly sex is not among them, quite counterintuitively, at least from what I have seen on Hive.

Another possible factor for the success of this post was maybe that I combined two popular topics, namely that of travel, and beer. Although, I must admit, I have not gotten back as much resonance from the ##beersaturday folks as from #pinmapple. Still, I don't think it hurts to combine various potential interests into a multi-layered post, and then of course spread them in the respective communities.

Good Luck!

Finally, I should close this speculation with the great unknown. Luck might be the sum of all those factors you are not aware of... And in my given situation I think there is plenty of that. Sure, I would love to reach the award of best post of the day again. But can I replicate this type of achievement? I don't think it's that simple. Though one thing is sure: my attitude toward it has certainly shifted. Getting a thousand votes is not that far out of reach, after all. So let's see how long it takes me to get there again.

THANK YOU ALL!!!

Before posting this brief speculation, I would like to take a moment and thank all of you who have voted for my post, or even ever voted for anything I posted, or commented, or shared, or follow me, or have had any interaction with me on Hive. I truly appreciate you, because otherwise I would probably not be here now.

Sort:  

Congrats for this nice achievement!
!LUV
!CTP
!KING

Keep up the great work King @stortebeker, libertycrypto27(2/6) is impressed by the thought and consideration you put into this post. Your work is truly appreciated.

In fact, this post has been so good that @libertycrypto27 has sent you 0.05 SOULS as a gift! We are your biggest fan!

BTW! with SOULS you can access our infernal coliseum game, conquer territories and earn rewards


stortebeker, libertycrypto27 sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Wahoo impressive more than 1100 upvotes 🙏 and without my help 😀... One more for your post.
Have a great day

Well thank you, as always, it's much appreciated!

Congratulations man, that's deadly!

I managed to get that achievement once when I wrote a post about my son being born and the horrors of child birth. It got a lot of engagement and stuff too which was cool, a fair few friends here knew the day was approaching. I think it was well written, but didn't expect it.

I came close before for a short story I wrote, the thing is though, I didn't think that story was any better or worse than anything I'd written previously. Strange, I guess it's like a chain reaction in a way.

Trying to replicate it would be tough, but the buzz from seeing something like that is amazing.

Congrats and CONGRATS!!! To your post, and of course to the event behind it, the birth of your son!

Also, since I believe if a post generates a good discussion, it is worth a thousand upvotes, it seems like that post truly reached legendary levels.

Yeah, there's no point in pushing for a replication. The frustration wouldn't be worth it. Instead, writing good posts, knowing that some of them will be rewarded (occasionally very well) is a good reward in and of itself. At least, that's how I see it.

Congratulations @stortebeker! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 7250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 7500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024

Congratulations @stortebeker! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 150 LEO on Leo Power Up Day!
Thank you for participating in the Leo challenge.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024