Sort:  

It's still at the whims of the public. I have never watched any of her shows or other stuff. She is an extreme example, but shows what is possible. Meanwhile I can do what I do and earn something on Hive :)

!BEER

Yes extreme - most of those who earn really well are. Ronaldo is another who in 2019 earned 3x as much as he did from the field for a handful of posts.

The average "influencer" on Instagram is very similar to an Amway agent "working for themselves"

It seems 'influencer' is a career goal for a lot of people these days, but they have to share the available rewards, as we do on Hive. The extreme examples can set unrealistic expectations. I know a lot of people in that industry get stressed out by the pressure to always be putting out 'content'. I try not to get that way with Hive, but then I'm not able to give up the day job.

It seems 'influencer' is a career goal for a lot of people these days

The "workless wealth crowd"

Instagram is a massive network marketing company that sells no products itself, but enables others. The accounts there are coathangers wearing coathangers, wearing more coathangers....

oh and the "public whims" are also engineered by algorithms remember. they push these people into not only the site, but all over the media too - with every instagram post becoming global news. What chance does a real person really have?

Yes, it's partly artificial, but the public need to buy into the brands. It's a big pyramid with not much room at the top. Who would have seen all this coming when the internet was young? Billions have a computer in their pocket and crave entertainment. I know my tastes are far from typical and I'm not the target audience for most of this stuff. Happily my kids do not seem too obsessed with it either.


Hey @tarazkp, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.