Hive needs Minnows!

in #hive11 months ago

Last month I wrote about a lack of progress in getting accounts to power up. Now the numbers are no better.

Stats from @arcange

Actually we have gained some Orcas and Dolphins, but we lost another Whale and Minnows could drop below 8900 again. This is the lowest number of Whales in about two years. The peak was just before the big fork when we had 45. Looking at HiveBuzz I can see that there are a few accounts that are not too far off Whale status, but I have not checked if each is powering up or down. I believe several of the current Whale accounts belong to one person. We need a good spread of big investors. It is interesting that the Whales do not seem to be into gaining from HBD savings, but then they may use other accounts for that. I would be interesting to gather some statistics on whether Hivers are generally investing in HBD savings rather than HP as the return could be greater, assuming the $HIVE price does not improve significantly.

The current thresholds for the levels are:

  • Minnow 564.186
  • Dolphin 5641.856
  • Orca 56418.559
  • Whale 564185.586

We do benefit from having more HP across the users as it spreads the rewards wider. So use what you have to support some of the smaller accounts who have more to gain. As they can give more rewards they will feel more involved and also earn more from curation. Some people always get a lot of big votes and they do not really need the extra you can give them, so look for posts that deserve more. If you do not have time to vote manually then follow the trail of someone you trust to vote well. That could even be this account. You can use Hive Vote to set this up.

To optimise your voting you should try to keep your voting power above 80% so it can recharge. I see people with it down around 30% and that reduces the rewards they can give significantly.

It is up to us all to help Hive grow. If people join and get little engagement then they are likely to leave. The $HIVE price is not great, but it could improve if the platform grows and then we all benefit.

The future of Hive is in your hands.

Sort:  

Congratulations @tenkminnows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 23000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Announcing the Travel Reimbursement Fund for HiveFest⁸

Good Luck

We all need that :)

True, hive me some back.

My previous @v4vapp proposal has expired. I have a new one which is running but unfunded right now. I'm still running @v4vapp and all my other services.

I've just updated v4v.app and I'm getting ready for some exciting new features after the next hard fork.

Please consider asking your friends to vote for prop #265 or consider unvoting the return vote.

For understandable reasons in the current crypto climate it is harder to get funded by the DHF, I accept this so I'm asking a wider audience for help again. I'll also add that I power up Hive every day and usually power up larger amounts on 1st of the Month. I'm on Hive for ideological reasons much more than for only economic benefit.

Additionally you can also help with a vote for Brianoflondon's Witness using KeyChain or HiveSigner

If you have used v4v.app I'd really like to hear your feedback, and if you haven't I'd be happy to hear why or whether there are other things you want it to do.

I guess we just have to do our part to let hive thrive more by sharing them to others so there will be a lot of many new users.
Thank you for your support on my post @tenkminnows. Greatly appreciated.🥰♥️

what is the curent thresold to become a minnow ?

Right now it's 567.549 HP

i'm one YAY

Congratulations! You can see on HiveBuzz that you went over a millions VESTS

image.png