Is There A Way To Embed Hive Posts Directly Into A Website?

in #hivelast year

Can you embed Hive posts directly into a website post?

I closed out my DBA the other day for my web design business. I'm only hosting two sites on my virtual server for a client. As I was cleaning up my virtual server I came across a project I hadn't worked on in a long time and checking the social media accounts for it, found several people following it. I'm considering returning to the project. It's a site that teaches TARO card reading. My thoughts are, if I can get traffic to the site, I could earn some advertising revenue with it.

The site had a WordPress blog, but I'm not sure I need all that. I already set up a Hive account for that blog, and I'd like to just use Hive as my blogging platform. I know we have a way to post to Hive directly from a WordPress blog, and that might be a solution. However, I'd like to just embed the last 7 posts from my Hive blog, into a web page.

The Question

Is there a piece of JavaScript or something I can use that will automatically load my last 7 posts into a web page for me?

I'm not really concerned about comments, they can join Hive if they want to comment on the posts. I just want the information available on the site as well but still utilize Hive as my main blog.

I want it to post to my webpage, but have Hive credits with maybe a link to my Hive blog with some information about Hive and how to get started.

So basically all blog content would get done on Hive, and the posts would load into a web page for my web visitors to find and read. Sort of like one of those Twitter sidebars everyone uses to show off their Twitter posts on their websites.

Any solutions?

Sort:  

You should be able to use Hive’s prebuilt JS library in a HTML document in the browser even without Node development tools but you likely also need a Markdown compiler in order to convert the posts to HTML.

In your case I would consider a server side solution using cronjobs and caching if you don’t run your own API server. I think I saw a Hive library for PHP in the developer portal and that could lower the hosting requirements to a basic LAMP web hosting plan.

Thank you so much for this. That totally makes sense. I will look into all that stuff. Thanks!

!BEER

HTML's embed mark up may be useful for what you have in mind.

HTML embed


Hey @x9ed1732b, here is a little bit of BEER from @the-bitcoin-dood for you. Enjoy it!

If you like BEER and want to support us please consider voting @louis.witness on HIVE and on HIVE Engine.

Why not just copy the link ?

I want it automated instead of having to insert each post.

Haven't tried it but could you just use an iframe?

I could and that's actually not a bad idea. I hadn't considered that. I wanted something a little more elegant where the content gets embedded in the page with a link to the page at the end or something like that.

An iFrame could be a simple solution as a starting point though. Thanks.

I tend to prefer simple solutions to elegant ones. Web pages that would work on my Commodore 64 🤗. Web pages that bring a tab to a crawl on a $3000 gaming laptop 😡

I'm not a web guy, but it seems it ought to be possible. Just have to pull the text from the blockchain. I'm sure others will have ideas.

!PIZZA

I was messing with something like this on Bitcoindood website right before I decided to close it. I think I can do it with NodeJS scraping the data from the blockchain, putting it into a text file, and then getting it to the webpage using regular JS. IDK, I'll have to start experimenting if I decided to go ahead with it. Thanks.

!PIZZA

Ask some tech guys here.

Doesn't @engrave do something like this? From what I understand it is a blog front end for Hive. Perhaps @shainemata can chime in here.

I'm trying to stay away from the whole second blog thing. That is an option that I might try though. I really want to try and keep the site light, SEO friendly, and mostly HTML.

I can understand not wanting a second blog. I have so many "great idea" blogs that updating WP, plugins, etc can be a real bear.

Posted via D.Buzz

I think what he meant is - if they've done it, can't you just nick their code change it for your Hive account only and point it to your website? Isn't that what they do.... https://dblog.org/explore

Engrave pulls up all your Hive posts. You then toggle which posts to show on the blog. Then you simply post through https://dblog.org
It's not feature-rich. Simple.

Posted via D.Buzz

:) wow, u mean to embed just a link to the post or some kind if window that let's u see the entire post right there? there must be a way. good luck..

I'd like the entire post in there. It could be done with links but I'd still want to pull them from the blockchain.

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@the-bitcoin-dood(1/5) tipped @steevc (x1)
steevc tipped the-bitcoin-dood (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!