Welcome to the HIVE - Introduction Post

in #hive4 years ago

Thumb_WelcomeToTheHive.png

Hello HIVE and WELCOME to everyone who has chosen to join. I think it's safe to say that we're all pretty excited to be here. It's a new start for the blockchain, a new start for the community, and a clean slate.

Just as Vitalik Buterin (Twitter @vitalik.eth) has said in a recent tweet, this is a strong demonstration of decentralization.

This seems like a potential positive watershed moment in the history of blockchain governance. If Hive (the fork) overtakes Steem it would be a strong demonstration that the community is in charge and cannot be bought.


A new beginning...

As this is a new beginning for the blockchain, but most importantly for the community, I couldn't help but jump to the opportunity. I have been powering down for 7 weeks now on Steemit, thinking of abandoning the platform completely.

But all of a sudden, I noticed that my STEEM was going up insanely in price earlier this week, so I had to check and see what was happening, as I still had 6 more weeks of powering down to get to sell all my STEEM for BTC.

I went on the front page of Steemit and there it was - the HIVE announcement. I quickly read through it and understood what was going to happen. Finally I had found my spark to be again part of the community.

The same spark I had back in 2017 when I first joined Steemit and started posting. So I rushed to create a new account, leaving the past behind, and here we are, already on HIVE, doing my introduction post.


We're not there yet...

As you can clearly see, the transition process, while pretty smooth, is not yet complete. We are still missing a couple of things, like some of our beloved apps, the wallet, the ability to power up and probably some more that I am missing.

I have already my liquid HIVE tokens ready to be powered back up, and while I'm waiting for that, I'm also waiting for Binance to enable STEEM deposits and withdrawals so I can trade my STEEM to BTC, as I always wanted.

However, I will be keeping and working on powering up the HIVE account, as I always thought that this ecosystem is quite unique - between the passive APR from the inflation, the curation rewards and post rewards I think this is a long term investment.

Sure, the HIVE supply is inflationary, just like STEEM, however we have a much lower supply now with all the blacklisted accounts like the ones owned by Justin Sun, and I think that over the course of a few years, as we will slowly get out of the trenches of this financial market meltdown and on to a new bull cycle, our stakes in HIVE will bring much better results than we can ever imagine at this time.


But what about the future...

Well, this is the last point I'm going to touch on - the future of HIVE and Crypto Society's introduction. I think that under a dedicated community, with shared interests and a fair stake, the HIVE ecosystem will flourish with time.

I plan on making Crypto Society a piece of that flourishing ecosystem, and create a hotspot for quality content, be it blog posts on different topics of interest or beginner guides for the cryptocurrency space.

I have a few ideas and while it has took me so long to get things started, I have to understand that all great things have small beginnings, so here I am, my first post sharing my thoughts.

Before I go I want to thank you all for the opportunity to be a part of this great community and hope to create as many new friendships and get to know as many of you as possible, so I would be genuinely happy to hear your thoughts about HIVE, about crypto, and maybe even about what sort of content you like most or feel like you would need!

CS_Logo.png

Sort:  

Welcome aboard!

Thanks man, really appreciate it, without your delegation I couldn't have posted this :)

You are welcome.