You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you know C? Familiar with Bolos? Read on ...

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

Why didn't you put up a proposal for developing the Hive ledger app? To which proposal can the funding be backtraced to? The vessel-one? The blockchain-dev one? Both of those having a record of no visible work done by you that actually fits the amount of money you've got.

I never questioned your skills, so I don't know why you'd try to push out a response from me, asking if I can write/verify in C. I can't. Nor can I write in C++. I'm fluent in Javascript though.

As I wrote in my initial question to you on MM: I want you to get funded. But just because you're one of the few devs on Hive who can write C/C++, doesn't justify your actions of trying to get as much as possible out of it. Especially, since your proposals basically created a base-line for what seems to be acceptable.

I guess the ledger app could be added to the blockchain-proposal, but what about Vessel? Judging what changes have been made right now, for the amount of money you get, is ridiculous. I can't judge how much time it takes to write C code, looking over it I have to admit that it seems to be a lot of work, but it could also be a lot of boilerplate code due to it being a lower-level language.

However, in regards to Vessel: I've done nothing but writing JS/NodeJS code the last 4 years and while I'm using Vue, not React, there is no way that those changes are worth 5-6+ months of 150 HBD per day. This basically makes the DHF look like a joke or even worse: like a cash-grab. Is this what you want? Now, you said something about "withholding" updates. Why? For what reason? It's open-source software that you're being paid for to develop. If you don't tell us what you're actually been doing, you can't be mad at me for taking the work that is visible for what you've done.

Last but not least: why didn't you tell the community earlier that for the ledger app to be approved, it needs to be vetted by someone outside of Ledger?

Sort:  

Last but not least: why didn't you tell the community earlier that for the ledger app to be approved, it needs to be vetted by someone outside of Ledger?

I was working on finding a reviewer and didn't feel like asking randos on Hive because honestly I figured the quality of review would be very poor.

There are Bolos experienced devs that would probably be cheaper and more effective to have review a Bolos app than people on Hive. The reason for that is because the devs on Hive frequently need their hands held and guidance on what to do. They need to be told what to research and where to start looking, etc. Part of the work in development is research.

Research doesn't have a number of commits online. But if you want I can make a commit each day even if no dev work was specifically done so it shows activity on GitHub. I can write a novel length post each day to explain what did, or didn't happen that day if that makes every feel more included.

None of that changes the fact that supply and demand help value work and currently the demand is high but the supply is non-existent. There are very few devs on Hive that have the experience to even perform a review of the Hive Ledger app.


Why didn't I make a proposal for the Ledger app? Because I didn't feel like making a proposal for every single thing I did for Hive. My goal is to continue working on Hive non stop, even at night during my off time, etc to come up with ideas and new features to code and present with PoCs. Currently that feature is atomic swaps.

When I release a sort of PoC for atomic swaps what then? Will you complain that I don't have a proposal specifically catered to it?

Yes, development on Vessel improvements have been slow lately but they have not been stagnant either. If you think the proposal is overvalued then of course unvote it. Though I don't think you ever had it voted anyway ;)


All of this is fine and honestly expected. I have seen people create proposals and not get finding because ultimately funding comes down to the large whale votes. Apparently, for a while at least, those voters agreed that my work was valuable. The way the proposal system works with hourly payouts, if you want to unfund something you can.

I look forward to continuing to add new features to Hive and sharing my skills and experience that seem to be lacking or non existent on Hive right now.