Sort:  

Thanks for the comment, had to go refresh my memory on cosmos. Building sidechains is good, but it still requires having many node operators to be decentralized. It's almost like starting a new blockchain which can be very hard.

The big selling point with Steemit's SMTs was that I could create an SMT myself without any experience, just a few clicks. I will be very bummed out if we don't get something like that. Whether layer 2 or layer 1, we need a UX like that.

Few clikcs for an SMT, no sidechains needed. Simple and efficient.

And we will probably get that experience :)

Remind me to Ardor and their blockchain as a service technology and their child chain technology. Not sure about the innerworks but it was some of the tech that also Komodo adopted for inter-chain communication as well as atomic swaps.