Sort:  

Yep, $5 a month for the server and the cost of the domain, so in essence startup cost is $25 with the $5 monthly to host.

untitled.gif

wow! I'll just tag @aggroed here to make him aware of this development as I really think the best way forward is low entry cost to web3

I'm pretty sure he doesn't care at this point. But it will do a dent in their business once the ability to make community tokens comes along. I hear that may be a thing from the SPK network discord, so we will see!

Hive-Engine has paved the way, but yes, the costs associated are too extreme for most people, but they do have people they employ and servers to run as well, so I get the need to charge for the services they provide, but 5000 BEE to start a tokenized community is a bit extreme, even at these prices. Then 1000 BEE for this and 1000 BEE for that, it begins to add up.

I also get where the costs associated can make it harder for tourists to just come in and experiment. Makes them really think about the community they are trying to build. But yeah... There are better ways and I think we have found that way! When we can get NFTs going on these communities, that will be game though, lol.

well I think competition is really great for these kind of things, especially for the users. SO well done in making it cheaper, perhaps the Hive-engine way is although still easier.

I take can't take credit for the framework, I just got it setup for my own community and wanted to clarify some things that weren't in the original guide.

And yes, Hive Engine has done a great job at making it easy to create a front end, just costly. But, you do get a community token and the option for an NFT marketplace, so there is that.

I will be real interested to see how these breakout communities work with tokens in the future.