My 5 Year Journey With Hive

in #hive2 years ago

So I have been on here for half a decade now. When I put it like that, it seems like a very long time indeed. 5 years of writing almost everyday, sharing my thoughts, my opinions, my life. When I began my journey on here. I didn't want to share too much personal information, including any pictures of myself.

photo_2021-10-01_19-02-38.jpg

I felt quite intimidated by the World Wide Web and the thought of having my image up for all to see. ( Although, who they 'all' are, I had no idea). I just felt like I had to be cautious, about what I shared. I did use Facebook for about half a year, but quickly deleted my account, when I realised how much time it took away from me and how controlled it was.

Me and computers, well we never really fit. It just didn't feel so good to me, to be sitting in front of a screen. I wanted to be putting my time and energy into the real world, you know the one that is outside.

Then I got introduced to Steemit and I was kind of curious to see what was going on. I liked the fact that it was aiming to be truly decentralized and that your content was your own and no one could take it down. Although it could get buried, but still be there none the less.

photo_2021-10-01_19-02-48.jpg

Freedom of speech and freedom of expression is really important to me. And finding a platform where I could connect with people from all over the world and hear firsthand from them, what was happening in their corner of the world, well that's priceless really.

A lot of the high tech stuff went over my head and it still does. I am fascinated by crypto, but still find it difficult to explain to others how it actually works. So many people say to me, "but it makes no sense, how is it created". To which I answer, "and what about fiat money makes sense?" I mean where does the value for that come from?

Fast forward five years and I quite literally have poured myself into this platform. Because really, what have I got to hide and why should I.

Silence sure can be powerful, but opening up and sharing, well it helps to break down barriers, it helps to connect us to one another.

photo_2021-10-08_20-39-40.jpg

I didn't really know what to expect when I first signed up, I was so out of my depth, until I found the EcoTrain community and Family Protection family. Because both, where talking about things that I feel very passionate about and provided me with a window to share my stories and connect with like minded people.

Then I got involved in other communities and tribes and well, it really helped to open up my eyes and my heart. Life, for me is all about connection and that was one thing, I wasn't expecting on here.

That I would feel so supported, by so many people and that in turn I could also offer my support to them as well.

Life feckin hurts at times and being able to share our experiences, really helps us to make sense of them. So often when I write, I gain so much more insight. It is one of my favorite ways to process and it has been a huge part of my healing journey.

I started to write poetry again, after many years of feeling uninspired. Of not prioritizing myself and my own well being. Denying myself, of the opportunity to really tap into my creative flow.

now.png

Hive is a whole ecosystem, onto itself.

Where people from all walks of life, have come together to contribute in whatever way they can, to ensure that it keeps moving forward and that it evolves. I really feel like, every corner is represented on here, or at least has been at one stage or another.

We all have a voice on here and we get to choose how we wish to use it and yes it will not be to everyone's liking, but that doesn't matter, what matters is that we stay true to ourselves. It's unrealistic to think we can be liked by everyone and it's too much feckin hard work as well.

I like to share my thoughts on different things that are happening in the world and I know that there are many that don't agree with me and that's okay. Diversity is key at the end of the day, if you want this ecosystem to survive and thrive.

4bEjbgCbFMvAGbwxD9CJfJUznpDy21P1gb5kciUwoKrnYbGbNVgJCYqgbJ9zC7NMqywPCP5pmJ7Z9vxwKStdEuitVM6YdmfP6pRx4pHrvZk943BuF9Lq6P9gP7YKPB8Ph4KQRJ6WxvUDT52rPrms9sF8jAnmV1YwveM14N83HFBijTZ1Kt.jpeg

I'm not here to please everyone, I am here to share my truth, my knowledge and build up this wonderful community that we have on here. A community, where there needs to be a place for everyone.

Surely this is what is most important.

There are so many amazing folk on here and a big thank you to all the wonderful beings, that have lifted me up, when I felt my world falling out from under me.

There are so many talented folk, who have inspired me so much and encouraged me to keep creating. (you all know who you are and I will not name names, as I know that I will definitely forget a few.)

photo_2020-12-20_21-19-26.jpg

Hive has enabled me to support my family over the last 5 years. Because of this platform, I am now able to pursue my dream of creating a mushroom farm. This year I began my first ever power down and with that I have started an online Mushroom Cultivation Course.

It has helped me to continue to live the way that I do and I am forever grateful for that. Is it perfect no, but I am not looking for perfection. I am looking to be challenged and inspired. To deepen my knowledge and open my mind up to different ways of thinking and that can only happen, if I connect with lots of different people.

Here's to another 5 years on Hive with all you awesome folk!

Sort:  

I hope the mushroom farm works out well for you. Be interesting see how it's going in another 5 year's.

Thanks so much @j85063 xxx

Freedom of speech.. That's what I want in blogging..
Congrats on your milestone. I hope I could reach this long too 😊

this is quite an achievement of persistence and focus.
I wonder if I´ll make it, I have only been here since March ; )
keep up this awesome work.

Thank you, if you want to you will. xxx

Congratulations on thriving in life and in the platform. Being able to be here for 5 years and witness its development is amazing. Same here, I also like the freedom of speech and freedom from toxicity here in blogging which I can't have in other social media platforms. Cheers to all of us who keeps on fighting in life.

Yes freedom of speech and freedom is so important. Thank you @ayane-chan xxx

five years of such a busy life, oh my!!
let me treat you with a !PIZZA on such a case. and my best wishes to all of the family. 🙏

Cheers @qwerrie and thanks for the pizza xxxx

Wow what a path and so happy you can make your drem come true! A mushroom farm, would love to see that irl. Do you know we still have your postal card pined in the kitchen, so it's true the web can take us away reality but also connect to reality, a matter of balnce I guess. Hugs

Ah that that makes me very happy and yes you are so right, it goes both ways. Maybe one day you will get to see my mushroom farm, you are always welcome, hugs back at you my friend xxxx

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@qwerrie(3/5) tipped @trucklife-family (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Happy HIVE Birthday Trucky :)

Feel really connected to your feelings about your « face on a screen » and what’s you’re saying about freedom of speech..

We all have a voice on here and we get to choose how we wish to use it and yes it will not be to everyone's liking, but that doesn't matter, what matters is that we stay true to ourselves. It's unrealistic to think we can be liked by everyone and it's too much feckin hard work as well.

Those are so true and wise words ! Like all your article here, connexion and diversity are the main and most importants..! I really feel close of your experience sharing and I’m happy we had the occasion to meet here :)

Courage for the mushroom farm ! I hope most of the adventure will go as you want to... but I’m sure it will <3

Thanks you again for your beautiful testimony, take good care !

Thank you @anttn for your beautiful words, I really appreciate them. I will connect with you soon on discord, so we can talk. I have had a few hectic days. xxxx

Well done Truck, I remember you from Natural Medicine community. I have been here about 4 years but have become despondent because I used to get better upvotes from some whales but then they stopped upvoting my posts with all my photos. I have lost my motivation to post as a result.

I have not been spending enough time, reading on here, I hope to get better at it. I understand, why you feel unmotivated, but it would be a pity for you to stop. I hope you are well out there in the 'real' world xxxx