You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What do we want from content?

in #hive4 years ago

Regarding paying people for their efforts: The SteemIt Inc stake was not burned, but rather put into a fund for paying people to do things.

I thought this was one of the interesting and positive things that happened in the split. While I know that stake isn't active until a HF takes place it would be a great way to solve the never ending problem of using the reward pool to fund "working".

Clearly you've done some excellent promotion, PR and likely more...
Do you see yourself creating an ongoing work proposal in the future?

Sort:  

I always had thought of the Fund for more hardcore development work and upgrades etc. I had no real intention to use it myself, but honestly had no intention to use the rewards pool either. After taking some feedback and discussion with community members I am considering typing up a retroactive proposal outlining my contributions and asking for possible compensation. I guess in my mind it’s much easier for me (And lazier perhaps) to just post occasionally and let stake holders reward me if they want, then I’m not “asking” for anything... but that also counters my own goals to reward good content here.. so it’s a bit of a conundrum. I personally think the rewards pool will still be used to reward contributions, but perhaps we need to work on finding that balance. And if it’s more beneficial for the community for me to just make a proposal documenting that, rather than posting randomly and then causing frustration, it’s something I should probably explore.

I’m currently trying to just gather documentation and timeline of contributions and try to determine my next step. I guess it doesn’t come natural to me, but I understand the frustration and think there is room for improvement.

Well, I hope you do put in a proposal and I would be excited to see non-development activities rewarded.

Clearly the early successes of Hive have been a group effort and until there is some respect for non-development type activities.. Meh.

Good job on the PR and Exchange work.

I would argue getting everyone talk about Hive was as important as any dev work that happened and getting on the exchanges was the most important piece of all.

I sincerely hope some people see that and reward it.