If it can happen to Steem, it can happen to Hive

in #hive4 years ago

When I first signed up to blog a number of years ago, I thought my encryption keys would protect my work, account and crypto. At least that is what I was told. I was very wrong and profoundly mislead. The keys may protect me from other users, but not against programmers and witnesses. There is a huge flaw in the system and it is human. These people have the power to freeze accounts, delete accounts outright and even seize assets without due process. The flaw is greed, lust for power and fraud. The trust I have in these types of blockchains is completely gone. Encryption keys mean nothing when people can pull that shit in a committee.

Sort:  

This is a tradeoff for ability to do free instant transactions
If you need a MEDIAblockchain you must have this. If you want maximum sovereignty - use BTC

BTC is controlled by the miners. They can simply increase transaction fees at will, effectively creating inflation that obviates BTC's 21M token limit. During the peak of the 2018 moonshot, xaction fees reached in excess of 25%.

Paying 25% to move your money is not sovereignty.

Private cryptos, bespoke, one-time use cryptos, those might be sovereign if you can use them over a mesh network that can't be censored and is utterly decentralized consisting of users that are nodes and supplying electricity to run that network themselves.

BTC is dependent on miners, censors, power companies, and governments everywhere to provide necessary services today, which means your tokens are privileges they allow you to have.

This is the basis of the argument between PoW and PoS.
Sure, PoS is faster and cheaper in electricity, however, someone can buy up the control.
And even more likely, the control will become a clique.

It is almost certain over the long run.

I think that at some point we have to have some level of trust in community.
Think about it this way, Sun did run us off STEEM with his behavior, but we are thriving here. And he has not succeeded in controlling us. Even the funds he tried to steal, well someone in the community prevented the theft.

In the end, anywhere in life, we rely on those we are connected to for our safety. Solo security is an illusion. Even with bitcoin, wouldn't it be hacked by now if not for the maintenance and improvements being done by the core developers all these years? And what value would it have to someone like me (or you?) if there were no hardware wallets, mobile wallets, authentication apps, and so much more that community members create and often offer for free?

I hope you'll stay. I hope you have enough trust in enough people in this community that you feel safe investing your time with us.

While I acknowledge that what happened with Sun to be true, I must also remember that the witnesses that govern here, were also capable, willing and did indeed freeze assets of accounts on the blockchain when they were witnesses there. Breach of trust and criminal activity in my view. I'm not staying. I'm checking out and will not return. Good luck though. I hope that it goes well for people here, including yourself.

Like I said below, my trust rests outside of this realm. That is where I will place my trust, in Creator, Mother Earth, myself and my physical tribe. They have proven themselves to be trust worthy.

Real trust isn't something given, it's something earned. When we give away trust it's because we are scared...earning each others trust is how any community or system will be able to function, whether it's a blockchain or a neighborhood or a company.

I'm with you, I've never really seen blockchain as some end all solution to societies problems, and I see that kind of mindset as extremely short sighted and deluded...but it's a chance at changing the balance of power.

What are you going to trust if not Hive? Facebook? A bank? A country? Your neighbors? Nothing is perfect, and nothing is worth trusting 100%...I say try to trust what feel you can have SOME influence over because that's where the trust can be built both ways.

My trust rests in Creator, Mother Earth, myself and my tribe; my physical tribe. The ones that I've worked hard to build relationships with and I have a reasonable trust that when I need help, they will be there, just as I've been there when they needed help. It wont be Hive, Facebook, banks, countries or most people.

don't wanna try and trust in humanity as a whole, we are part of mother earth ;-)

Exactly! <3 Peace to you @whatamidoing!

HIVE.D!

HIGEST Regards Bruv!

Screen Shot 2020-05-12 at 8.27.36 AM.png

Well said! We shouldn't take these things lightly and make sure HIVE doesn't fall to this place. Hope the (real) owners will get their STEEM back.

Well, I have tried to point out these things for years now. While I'm glad you have made the necessary logical connections to understand that crypto isn't money, the internet is a privilege, and speech is a fundamental aspect of humanity (I hope I'm not assuming greater understanding than you are expressing), DPoS also is simply whoever has the gold rules.

That's how Sun took over Steem, and why Hive exists. @ned simply allowed the extant Hive oligarchs to run Steem, instead of doing what Sun did. I find it ludicrous they castigate him as some kind of thief for doing so. His abstention from assumption of solitary control of Steem governance was the only reason it ever appeared decentralized.

That being the case, rather than run away in a tizzy, perhaps you might recognize that those that provide the infrastructure you use to speak on the internet allow you that privilege you have been using, including the oligarchs of Hive.

They appear to be quite dedicated to free speech, if almost as much as they are to their wallets, and despite my incessant decrying their profiteering and pointing out Hive isn't decentralized at all, because the ninjaminers have the necessary tokens to govern as they will, they continue to allow me to post without being flagged into absolute silence.

Actions speak, and they have claimed they intend for Hive to permit free speech by their actions.

Where else will you find that online today?

and it will because the paradigm has not shifted. The haves and have nots still exist and there is still govern-ment going on - look at the Hive logo - it's a triangle pyramid and the hive itself a hexagram - yea - it's the establishment all over again.

Well said. I just popped in to see all the new changes. It's been awhile! I stopped blogging here for that same reason, it's hard to trust these social media platforms which this pretty much is. As much as I wanted this to be different, the only difference is who controls it I guess.

I don't know if you use Discord but if you do, I'd like to invite you to a preparedness group you might like.

Mike Glover created it, he's the CEO of Fieldcraft Survival inc. Hope to see you there : https://discord.gg/3P4zJ4d