Rock bottom 2020

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

8B35724FFF54431D9A4D74A915FE121B.jpeg

Listened to @theycallmedan recent post https://peakd.com/hive-181335/@theycallmedan/xzueicjx.

It made me as you do, compare yourself to another person. In a way of looking if things will get better, have I finally hit the ground?

  • No friends
  • No car, that just broke 😂
  • No partner, 4 heartbreaks 🤬
  • No job, due too..
  • Mental illness

I was looking for something that I could do at home on my laptop to make money when I had the motivation, to save my future. I tried making YouTube videos as I had a relatively successful not for profit channel before with 3 million views and 7k subscribers years ago. I’m creative, art is my passion but I know I need to have money to make that a real thing, like my own gallery. I thought hmm, maybe if I scrape together any money I can invest it?

I new the stock market wouldn’t have the kind of gains I needed, well rarely there are things like Tesla that explode in value but at the time I didn’t see anything that was a huge buy but I wasn’t that smart when it came to that. Then the late 2017 Bitcoin price boom was on the news, I’d seen adverts on the news since 2011 probably lol, thinking it was some scam. I through a few hundred pound at a random crypto, I think it was tron at the time and thought Justin sun was this big deal 😂. I watched my money triple and then suddenly plummet to half what I put in. I was scared off and left in disappointment, I didn’t bother to do any research and like any new ignorant person I just expected to make money 😂.

A few months later, I came back and had a look at many cryptos in the top 100 and researched a lot, I came across steam and it hit me the potential it had, it had a use case that made sense. I saw Bitcoin as king of storing value but it’s boring haha. Steem had alot more different uses, also I am too emotional to not panic sell or fomo lol and I liked the staking of Steem to prevent my weak hands.

I started buying at $1.50, up to $2.70 and all the way down to $0.10 lol. I did a lot of steemhunt, anything to get tokens to sell to buy Steem with. Focus was to build my stake, it wasn’t its dollar value that mattered as long term I believed it would be worth a lot more. I literally have lived off bare basics to build my stake for the first year or so, I’ve only sold like a few hundred hive when it peaked at a $1 and that was to get home as I run out of petrol😂.

Then the Steem war happened and I was distraught with worry, was it all going to be ruined by some communist? I believed the community would come together but I didn’t expect how well it would come together, it’s like Steem was unrefined ore and hive was the end result, pure decentralisation.

I didn’t cash out, I doubled down and sold all my Steem for hive and doubled my stake. I never thought I’d have as much hive as I do but I have grinded hard for it. Power up, power up, power up. I’ve seen so many people leave, who claimed to be here for the long run, the name changed but community powering it didn’t and I’m still as bullish as I was when it was Steem, even more so because everyone knows where they are, it’s down to us to thrive and I believe we can be the best crypto in our class.

Hopefully no relatives pass away, if not this should be my rock bottom. It’s hard, really hard but when I’m at my lowest, I do generally think I don’t want to miss what this blossoms into. I’m broken but I keep moving even if it’s just my finger on the floor pulling me forward.

😉

Sort:  

Congratulations @xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx! You received a personal badge!

It's great to see you are attending HiveFest⁵ in Altspace VR.

Have fun!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁵ feedback and contest results
It's today! Do not miss the opening of HiveFest⁵

Thanks for your support :)