You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Carnivals and Carnivores - Hive Finland Meetup

in #hive4 years ago

That's probably true, he's perhaps lost a bit of that magic since his early days. Never too late to retire though, like that other legendary Finn who battled Schumacher like a god who's name I can't remember. Hopefully, we'll get to see a bit more awesome racing from him before he leaves for good, though.

Sort:  

Mika Hakkinen.

Ah, yes! The Flying Finn... What a legend!

Yep...I was at the track in Adelaide when he crashed and had an emergency tracheotomy trackside. He was in the Royal Adelaide Hospital for ages recovering. Great driver, good chap too.

1995 (I was 25)

Watch it all the way.

Now this is some old-school F1 that I love, and with legendary names that I'd once forgotten. But bugger me, that looks like a painful incident.

I've been watching F1 since 1979 and have loved all the different eras of it. The sport has changed so much, the personalities. It's been really interesting to see the changes. It will be interesting to see where it goes from 2022 when the regulations change too.

It's true, they all have their own characters, though I do miss the old V12s howling around the circuit, echoing off the stands. Time change, but it's still a lot of fun today, no doubt. I heard that they're changing the regs in 2022, so fingers crossed it won't ruin it.

They're changing the regulations to bring the cars closer together, reducing budgets and complicated aerodynamics, changing wheel size and stuff too. I think it should be good as theoretically the cars will be able to run closer behind one another due to a deduced amount of turbulent air coming off the aero on the car in front.

It was meant to be in 2021, but Covid fucked that up. Now 2022. See the video below.