5 tips for beginners on Hive

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

Sometimes I read posts by new Hivers complaining about the difficulty to get attention, upvotes, rehives and comments on Hive. I also think that the start here is difficult.
But there is a remedy, no shortcut, but a kind of "algorithm" how to succeed and that is ACTIVITY.

When starting here (and not being immediately followed by a person who recommended Hive to you) you may have zero followers. Thus, your posts are read by nobody. How do you get attention and coverage? I would suggest these approaches:

  • Interact with the community, e.g. by commenting on others‘ posts, following and upvoting others.
  • Before writing comments, I'd recommend to read the post thoroughly and answer with reasonable words (no spamming) and be kind (this is not Facebook).
  • Tell nyHers (not-yet-Hivers) of this great ecosystem and community. People who come to Hive by your recommendation will probably follow you and you'll already have a small community.
  • Join communities (https://peakd.com/communities) you are interested in and to which you can bring content and value with your posts.
  • Use suitable tags (topics) for your posts so that readers will find your post easily.

image.png

In my opinion, commenting is the most important tool. Because by commenting you catch attention and you can contact people with similar interests as your own. And by commenting you not only make yourself visible to others, but you bring value to this ecosystem (the value of social media networks is proportional to number of users and ultimately activity, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metcalfe's_law).

An additional note: If you believe that Hive is the medium of the future (I do think that), holding and powering up earned Hives for the long term could prove to be beneficial (no investment advice).

When starting on Hive, perseverance is needed to succeed here. But the longer you are on Hive and the better you are connected, the more all your activity will feel like play.

Have fun!

Sort:  

But there is a remedy, no shortcut, but a kind of "algorithm" how to succeed and that is ACTIVITY.

This summarizes everything.
I tell people hive like any other thing that is worth it, is hard at the beginning.
I am barely two months on this chain since I came back and i must say engagement is key in this network.
I almost got depressed on steemit because i was not getting upvotes and no guidance. I was also guiding a lot of people without knowledge.

The funny thing about it is when you tell newbies to engage, they don't get it. I don't blame them because i didn't get it at that time.

On a final note , i will like to add a tip to the ones you have listed and that tip is to just vibe with the community that you are interested in, when you do this the addictive part of hive will be on the newbie..
Thank you for this post

Thanks for your comment.
I like the tip to vibe with the community 👍

Great Post! This helped me learn a little more about my role on HIVE! This is what I've been looking for.

You're welcome 😃

Thank you for sharing this post @zeurich. It's really educating and helpful to me and many other redfish on this platform. Hive blog is a field where we learn daily while developing our cognitive, effective and psychomotive skills. Thanks for the enlightenment once more.

Thanks for your comment, and you're welcome 😀

Am a newbie here and I feel this post will be really helpful... already joining communities that sparks my interest and that is turning out really great, thanks for the tips @zuerich

Thanks for your comment, and you're welcome 😊

Points Boosting refund to @sirminealot!
Due to one of these reasons:
1. Post is not published with Esteem/Ecency apps.
2. Post is already curated by our team.
3. Post is not curated by our curators within 24 hours.
4. Post might be too old post, try more recent content.
5. Author already received vote in last few hours, try again later.
Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

Hi @Zuerich, Can I translate your post to my language? and post on @hivevietnam so newbie will find it easy to learn. Your tips really useful for newbie :))

At first, I struggled a lot but I'm getting better now and i do want more vietnamese know about Hive 😉

Hi @trangbaby, of course you can. Thanks!

And the last one don't give up even though the result might not be coming

Thanks a lot Zuerich. Im new here and I admit this to be really helpful. I guess quality engagement is a way to go so expect that from me.

Rehived :-)

Thanks a lot! 😃

Pretty much helpful counsels for them who are newbies (included me) on this revolutionary brand social media. And I also think "Consistency" and "Persevere" in right ways would be the golden keys to be succeed in here. Thanks you

Big thanks for sharing these tips.

Really good advice!! Danke! Merssi!

Focusing on specifics DAPPs gives the best engagement for me. I've also seen that there's less competition for attention on https://3speak.online

Good tip. Thanks!

Choosing the right tags is very important for discoverability, and often underestimated by new users. The first five tags (topics) are indexed, meaning the post will appear in the first five tags, when clicking on a tag and switching to the "Recent" sort order.

Thanks for your comment.
I didn't know that about the first 5 tags.

Thanks for the tips @zuerich!

You explained that well. I hope that many will follow your advice. I also want to thank you for your support. You set a good example.

Thanks and you're welcome!

Very good points, thank you. As the majority of the people who replied was new here (including me) it seems that we need more posts like this for the new members.
I came on last days of June, everything was so new, I didn't know how, where or what to do 🤷
I started to have fun recently, although it a very long way to get attention if you are new.
I felt like getting into a party without being invited.
But we have to be consistent, persistent and don't give up. Sometimes it is difficult, you feel that you are not valued..but what is the value? In what we measure the value of a post? Sometimes the numbers of "earned" fiat money is confusing, the point would be more long term thinking and focusing to the changes that crypto can bring.
Thank you @zuerich for the post!

Thanks for your comment and your interesting thoughts!
The start on Hive is really not easy. We should develop more of a "welcome culture".

Welcome culture and a "first steps" guide :=)
However, the own engagement of each one is crucial. Thanks for your response and following me

Wow. This is highly justified and fully explained. All points are correct and of which i have tried some and it worked for me and in that, i still try to do more and not giving up so easily. Infact, i feel honoured and encouraged with the massive support i get here and also the engagements i joined. It is really pleasurable to do and follow all what you have said because they are the basic steps to take in staying connected here. #hive5

Thanks for your comment. Great that you feel supported by the community 👍

Beautifully summarised the core steps for new hivers. I appreciate the ideas of engagement with community and commenting the people of similar interest. Interaction with people is most important to get attention.

Thanks for your comment. And, yes, it's all about interaction and activity.

When starting on Hive, perseverance is needed to succeed here. But the longer you are on Hive and the better you are connected, the more all your activity will feel like play

Love this

Thank you very much for the tips

Thanks for advices :))
A bit tricky to learn at first, especially not in my mother language ..hihi
Joined @HIVE almost 20days and love it so much🤩 I havent been updating my FACEBOOK since I joined @hivecommunity 😊😃

Congratulations @zuerich! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 23000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz Ranking update - New key indicators