Self-votes aren't rational

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

Until some weeks ago I regularly upvoted my own posts (1 or 2 per week). I thought "if the price continues to fall, at least, by upvoting myself I can reduce the damage".

Then I realized that my yearly return (in %) in Hive is relatively high (via curation), perhaps too high, and by attributing my upvotes exclusively to other content I can incentivize more contributors to take part in this great adventure (Hive) bringing long-term value to this community.

So I stopped that self-upvoting.

The curation reward is rather high, perhaps too high. It is more lucrative for Hive holders to incentivize others to produce content. Compare:

  • By adding a certain potential of my upvote power to myself, I increase my revenue (in Hive terms) by 1-5% per year. But if Hive falls, I rather lose.
  • If users join Hive, the price reacts rather strongly (exponentially). Though there may be free-riding, every (tiny) amount of Hive not used for self-upvotes, increases the value of our ecosystem, at least marginally. In an exponential setting (social media), even tiny contributions can have a big impact.

So, I find it rational to forgo some percentages of income via self-upvotes, and to maximize the incentivation of creators/writers, thereby increasing the incentive/motivation of not-yet-Hivers (I call them nyH) to post here. Plus, I don’t try to optimize my curation rewards, but try to upvote undervalued content.

I am here for the long term.

Enjoy your evening!

also interesting: https://peakd.com/hive-174578/@niallon11/ads-on-hive-blog-add-value-to-the-token-price-rather-than-take-it-away

and here one of the best introduceyourselfs I have ever read (by @oladele-art):
https://peakd.com/hive-148441/@oladele-art/introducing-myself-to-the-hive-blockchain-and-to-the-entire-community
"I joined the Hive community to explore, learn, meet people and also to impact lives with my representations and teach the little I know when it comes to creativity.
Joining this Blockchain, it's all as a result of the talks I had with a member @mattsanthonyit who explained every bit and edges of the Hive Blockchain to me. I am here to stay, learn and make a future in Hive Blockchain and I am so sure I won't have any regret joining because I see how much at my mentor has grown in the Blockchain.
I will like to appreciate @mattsanthonyit for bringing me on into this Blockchain. Tha k you so much. I really appreciate.
I am really glad to be here and I am ready to mingle with everyone so as to learn and build the future together."

I like his motivation, humbleness, optimism and open-mindedness.
That's what I'm here for.


Bis vor einigen Wochen habe ich regelmäßig meine eigenen Posts upgevotet (1-2 pro Woche). Ich dachte, "wenn der Preis weiter sinkt, kann ich durch Self-Upvotes zumindest den Schaden verringern".

Dann wurde mir klar, dass meine jährliche Rendite (in %) in Hive relativ hoch ist (durch Curation), vielleicht zu hoch, und indem ich meine Upvotes ausschließlich für anderen Inhalt einsetze, kann ich mehr Leute dazu inzentivieren, an diesem großartigen Abenteuer (Hive) teilzunehmen und mit ihnen zusammen langfristigen Wert für diese Gemeinschaft schaffen.

Also mache ich keine Self-Upvotes mehr.

Die Curation rewards sind hoch genug, vielleicht zu hoch. Für Hive-Holder ist es lukrativer, andere zu motivieren, Content zu posten. Vergleich:

  • Indem ich mir einen Teil meiner Upvote-Power selbst zukommen lasse, erhöhe ich meine Rendite (in Hive) um 1-5% pro Jahr. Aber wenn Hive fällt, verliere ich insgesamt.
  • Wenn neue Personen Hive beitreten, reagiert der Preis ziemlich stark (exponentiell). Obwohl es Free-riding geben kann, erhöht jede (winzige) Menge Hive, die nicht für Self-Upvotes verwendet wird, den Wert unseres Ökosystems, zumindest geringfügig. In einer exponentiellen Umgebung (social media) können selbst winzige Beiträge einen großen Einfluss haben.

Daher finde ich es rational, auf einige Prozent an jährlicher Rendite durch Selbst-Upvotes zu verzichten und den Anreiz von Creators / Autoren zu maximieren. Dies könnte den Anreiz für "Noch-nicht-Hiver (ich nenne sie nyH) erhöhen, hier zu posten. Außerdem versuche ich nicht, meine Curation Rewards zu optimieren, sondern versuche unterbewertete Inhalte upzuvoten.

I'm here for the long term.

Enjoy your evening!

Ebenfalls interessant: https://peakd.com/hive-174578/@niallon11/ads-on-hive-blog-add-value-to-the-token-price-rather-than-take-it-away

und hier eines der besten introduceyourselfs, die ich bisher gelesen habe:
https://peakd.com/hive-148441/@oladele-art/introducing-myself-to-the-hive-blockchain-and-to-the-entire-community
"I joined the Hive community to explore, learn, meet people and also to impact lives with my representations and teach the little I know when it comes to creativity.
Joining this Blockchain, it's all as a result of the talks I had with a member @mattsanthonyit who explained every bit and edges of the Hive Blockchain to me. I am here to stay, learn and make a future in Hive Blockchain and I am so sure I won't have any regret joining because I see how much at my mentor has grown in the Blockchain.
I will like to appreciate @mattsanthonyit for bringing me on into this Blockchain. Tha k you so much. I really appreciate.
I am really glad to be here and I am ready to mingle with everyone so as to learn and build the future together."

Ich mag diese Motivation, Bescheidenheit, Optimismus und Offenheit.
Diese Werte sind das Gegenteil von dem, was man auf Facebook & Co findet.

Sort:  

Ich finde deine Idee gut.
Ab einem gewissen Wert kommt es auch nicht mehr darauf an, ob man sich selbst einen Vote gibt. Mit der Kuration verdient man schon so gut und wenn man die Arbeit anderer anerkennt, kommt das oft doppelt zurück.

Jeden tag suche ich nach Posts von neuen Hivern, um ihnen einen Upvote zu schenken, damit sie weiter motiviert bleiben. Am Ende ist ein neuer langzeit Nutzer viel mehr Wert jeder Selfvote.

"Am Ende ist ein neuer langzeit Nutzer viel mehr Wert jeder Selfvote."

  • Volltreffer! 👍

I am delighted to read this post and I am short of words to say but I must say that I really appreciate your support and encouragement. Thank you so much

You're welcome 😀
And thank you for your contributions to Hive.

My pleasure. Am willing to learn from you and everyone here too

That was awesome..... If i had seen this before, i would have never try putting self votes. Actually, its not getting reflected now a days. And what is undervalued content?

That’s a good question.
I think there’s no objective valuation of content. So if I see content I find valuable and that‘s rewarded with a small amount of dollars or Hive, I tend to upvote.
I follow some Hivers who post great content and get upvotes worth of 30 dollars per post or more. I don’t upvote these because in my opinion Hive should be much more inclusive and the reward distribution more balanced.
This behavior should be both in my own interest and in the interest of our ecosystem. But I am just a small fish in this pond 🐠🐬

Selbstvotes, sind mir seit Anfang an ein Dorn im Auge. Leider erlaubt es das System und wird daher fleißig genutzt. Wenn man aber als "normaler" hier auf den Hive guggt und sieht, wie viel Geld sich die Leute selbst geben, ist es für mich ein abwertendes Signal, das wir nach Außen hin geben.

Es schadet so oder so. Nur wollen das gerade viele Große und natürlich die "nachmachenden" Kleinen nicht wirklich einsehen. Ich hätte nicht gemerkt in der Bilanz, ob ich mich selbst vote oder nicht. Dafür drücke ich mir aber gerne selbst mal einen Downvote aufs Auge, alleine schon weil es die Gierigen ärgert. :-)

Danke für deine Stellungnahme dazu! Jeder der mitmacht zählt.

Liebe Grüße
Sascha

Danke für Deinen Kommentar.
Ich denke ein Verbot von Self-Upvotes würde nichts bringen. Man könnte das einfach umgehen, indem man einen zweiten Account eröffnet und diesen maximal upvotet.
Ein Verbot wäre ein bisschen wie solch ein Tor:

Deswegen versuche ich an das Eigeninteresse aller zu appellieren 🤔

Gerne.
Natürlich bringt ein Verbot nichts, da sind wir uns auch einig. Der Verstand, müsste das Regeln können. Versteht man auf lange Frist, damit mehr Schaden als Gutes zu tun, auch für den eigenen Account, wird man sich ändern. So wie Du, was ich sehr löblich finde. Möge diese Nachricht sich verbreiten und dem gesamtem Hive damit zugute kommen.

LG und schönes Wochenende gewünscht.
Sascha

It's the same reason I haven't been upvoting my blogs in a long time. It makes more sense to spread what you have ad help build the ecosystem. I don't have any crazy curation returns. but I'm cool with what I'm getting 😄

Hallo, ich bin auch hier fur ein lange zeit und ich liebe die Plattform wirklich. Ich denke, Sie haben es besser gemacht, denn so wir mit der Entwicklung von Hive voran kommen.
Es ist schön Landsleute zu treffen :)
Ich wünsche Ihnen ein schönes Wochenende.

Rehived :-)

Vielen Dank!

Nun, vielleicht verstehst Du ja jetzt, das ich (nicht nur) dich nicht aus glücklich machenden Emotionen, sondern aus traurigen Fakten Downgevotet habe. Das ist sozusagen nichts Persönliches.

Aber irgendwie muss man ja Anfangen, darauf Aufmerksam zu machen. Es Schadet nun mal, egal wie man es sich hindrehen möchte. Ich finde es gut das Du den Artikel rehived hast, fehlt nur noch, das Du auch damit aufhörst. ;-)
Salve und gute Tage
Sascha

Aus dem Investieren in Hive entsteht keine Verpflichtung nur andere upzuvoten. Jedes Investment in Hive ist gut, unabhängig davon, was Holder mit ihren Tokens machen. Jeder Kauf stabilisiert oder erhöht den Preis. Das ist gut für alle Hiver.

Downvotes finde ich persönlich nicht cool (ausser vielleicht bei Spam). Wenn andere (egal wer) einem Post Wert beimessen, habe ich nicht das moralische Recht, diesen Wert zu reduzieren ;-)

Selbst Upvotes bringen eh nichts. Wenn man klein ist, ist der eigene vote nichts wert und wenn man etwas größer ist, ist es unnötig sich selbst ein Upvote zu geben

This was what i was saying some days ago. The hive network does not value content as much as they preach it. I have run into good content with no rewards or very little rewards . Its so painful.
I bring new users everyday to the platform. This new users have content but when they put their stuff up it just doesn't get a reward enough to make any one stay. I had to meet a friend to encourage him to continue despite everything. How many more can we encourage without then seeing reward or engagement for their content on this block chain?

This is a very wonderful write up. Every one on the hive network should read this and follow. It doesn't take anything to vote a new user with quality content everyday.

Finally,i will like end on this note

we owe it to ourselves to make hive great

Yes.
Especially in the beginning it is difficult to get followers and upvotes.
Beginners on Hive need high motivation and conviction and courage to comment on other posts to get a certain attention. With time that gets easier.

I know this

I don't see this as an either/or. You can both upvote content from self and others. I personally go back and forth. Sometimes I skip voting on my own content entirely. Sometimes I vote on it a few days after it is posted, so I'm likely the last voter and not taking curation rewards off anyone else's vote on my post, other times I vote on it when I go back to read comments pretty early on. Regardless of whether/when I vote on my own posts, I actively curate and follow two curation trails I trust. I hold others to the same standards to which I hold myself, which is, do whatever you feel in the moment. What this platform needs most is for you to enjoy participating here and to therefore do so regularly. As long as you are curating at all, only you can decide what mix makes this a rewarding enough experience for you to keep coming back.

Can I have a picture of you please, I want to sketch you

Honestly, I'd prefer to stay anonymously (or pseudonymously) here.
This gives me more freedom of speech.
image.png

I use this as a profile pic:

Could you sketch that in your inimitable style?

OK I understand. But how do I source the image?

Thanks for your support @zuerich ... My friend @gaulatico is new to Hive could you support him too 🤭🙏

Thank you very much, you're the kind of individual that this platform needs. I say that we Hivers are forever grateful for your love of the community. Thank you.

Thank you a lot.

Du hast ein Upvote von mir bekommen, diese soll die Deutsche Community unterstützen. Wenn du mich unterstützten möchtest, dann sende mir eine Delegation. Egal wie klein die Unterstützung ist, Du hilfst damit der Community. DANKE!

Congratulations @zuerich! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I totally agree with your conclusion. Unfortunately, since the Hive fork, people started to self-vote again on Hive. Automated daily posts are back. #newsteem is dead and its spirit did not survive Hive.

@zuerich this is quite an interesting post ,keep it up as i hope to learn more from you.

Encouragement motivates expecially the newbies

As far as I am concerned, I am still at 0,000 upvote but I accidentally upvoted myself once with Zero ofcourse. And while I was reading your Post, I was thinking : When I obtain 0,001 at least, will this one post have +0,001 from me or since a week has passed and I collected the rewards from that Post, it now means nothing?

Loading...