You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Hardfork 24: Upcoming Release Candidate, Testnet, and Other Info

Just an idea:

For a next HF I suggest automatically disable witnesses after reaching 3 thresholds:

  • last produced block > 30 days
  • last witness update > 7 days
  • last price feed > 24 hours

In order for a witness to be automatically disabled, it would have to meet all 3 criteria. This would automatically remove old witnesses who simply gave up the job without disabling first for some reason. I consider it a good alternative idea to use just the price feed criteria alone, but for 7 days.

But I still defend my other 2 proposals: Vote Dilution and Vote Expiration, specially the vote expiration part as I believe witnesses have to keep earning our votes by their continuous work. Some PeakD developers agree with me on that.