You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Information on Secondary Airdrop Proposals: Community Voting Begins Now

in #hiveblockchain4 years ago

To me, the threshold of 2 or more sockpuppets seems to be a little low. Was there some logic to that threshold or was it arbitrary?

I think there is a very large grey area here where a given account's intentions could fall either side of the line we're using to divide people in to one of two categories.

Two out of a possible 30 votes is only 6.66%; would it be possible to set a threshold of someone using over 50% of their votes to support sockpuppets, so maybe 15 or more out of their 30 (or less if they're not using all 30 votes) "feels" fairer in showing intention.

Regardless of where the line is drawn on a second airdrop, I absolutely support the idea of individuals being able to appeal and be included. It was great seeing the comment by @peakd and it would be great to see witnesses giving visibility/mentions/support to actions for individuals who may have been caught up in this unfairly/unwittingly

Sort:  

If you were voting for one witness run by Justin Sun, that can be considered a valid vote if you wanted him to be represented as a witness. If you're voting for two or more, you were actively supporting his attack on Steem's decentralization. That's how I see it, at least.

I get that position, but it just feels like it's a bit more nuanced to me - although I'm not sure of a fair way of deciding the cut off line and it obviously has to fall somewhere.

I have no idea how many accounts may fall in to this category - but if an account was voting for say 3 sun/puppet accounts, but also voting for 27 of the previous witnesses; that doesn't really "feel" like an attack.
I'm guessing however that most people took one side or the other - I have no data to back that up though.

@themarkymark I know you're curious about things, and back that up with quantifying data - have you done any sort of analysis of patterns of voting? Are there many cases where voting was ambiguous in terms of a split between the two positions? Or did most votes fall on one side or the other?
Is my hypothetical example likely to be affecting so few users its not worth the effort?

I have not no, I'm familiar with some of the cases but not all.

ok no worries - thanks for taking the time to answer

How are you determining whether a witness was run by JS?

By the version of the software (0.22.5) at the time. Only sockpuppet witnesses were using that version.