IPFS interface that authenticates with HIVE - OPENSOURCE

in #hivedevs3 years ago (edited)

This is a super basic interface that uploads files to the #IPFS network and then broadcasts a short description to the #HIVE. Sending a file-descriptor to the HIVE will help with decentralization because other people will be able to see what you upload and then decide if they want to clone it or not.

Authenticate

Choose File

Select the file you want

Wait for the file to finish uploading

After it finishes uploading, you will be presented with a link.

Here's what the file-descriptor looks like


The file-descriptor contains the following information:

  • File name
  • Mime type
  • File size
  • Content-id

Github repo: https://github.com/fulltimegeek/IPFS-HIVE

Try it yourself: https://fulltimegeek.com/upload

Sort:  

HIVE!D

I've used it a few times to upload videos, works great.

Very nice ! Thanks for sharing with us 😁 I was needing to get into ipfs and that’s perfect

Love it.
I do not see the final hiveblocks register with the hash after the file uploads, but I can just go and find it directly into Hiveblocks.com.

Are the files stored in IPFS for ever, or we will have to pay something to retain it ? Could it lead to creating an app, which would allow me to create a personalized photo app, where I could store all my family photos and share to my family / friends ? We had a function last year from which I have around 25 GB files ( photos / videos), which I want to share.

It is stored for a period of time for free but if you want it to be permanent you have to pin it, using either a free service like pinata (up to 1GB storage) or you can pay. Pinata has a paid option or you can buy filecoin and store with the miners.

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Works great. I'm curious, are you pinning the ipfs hash? Some other way?

Works great. I'm curious, are you pinning the ipfs hash?

Currently, yes. I do have my server scanning every block and pinning every #IPFS file that it sees. That may change at any time though.

Got it, kinda what I was thinking. I got burnt a couple years ago...thought ipfs was "permanent." Learned it is until it's not pinned anymore! Nice work.

Posted via D.Buzz

to "the IPFS network"? I thought IPFS is A protocol standard you can apply for MANY several networks?

the IPFS network

gateway.ipfs.io to be exact. That's the default gateway for the js-ipfs library.

do you see any project enabling potent video ipfs in the next 2 years?

Integrating IPFS with blockhain-mechanics is another hurdle that I need to jump over. But, from what I've seen, I don't think that we're anywhere close to solving the problem of decentralized file-sharing.

Wow muy instructivo lo que has explayado, gracias.

Can someone educate me on what IPFS is and what problem it’s trying to solve?

I'm still new to it but I think the main selling points are: resilient (stored on many different computers around the world), can't be censored or data-mined and is also more efficient use of storage so will basically be cheaper than storing on a central cloud like google.

Very cool project!

Very cool - would be good to add filecoin support so you could upload the file to ipfs and then it would ask how long you want to store it and how many replications you want; then you pay in hive and it swaps it into filecoin and basically does it all for you.

what is the best way to reach you these days I had a question?

You can always find me here on HIVE.

If you want to private message me, please consider using the messaging-feature on my website because reading memos via peakd/hive blog is inconvenient for me.

True. Actually, I can start here. Does this do video files?

Yes, it works with any type of file.

Awesome. Do you know how hard it is to create an nft based video system? meaning people can NFT their video with ipfs? thanks for commenting back.

Very cool !!!