Going Mobile for HiveFest

in #hivefest2 years ago

I’ll be relying on my old iPad and mobile phone to access Hive and it’s dapps during the 4 days of Hivefest 2022 in Amsterdam as I don’t want to take my laptop and risk storing it in a locker in my bunk hotel or have to lug it around with me all day!

Hence it’s over to mobile devices - my phone I’ll have with me all the time anyway and my iPad is much more portable than my laptop and it’s old so if it gets nicked not so much of a hassle (and I hardly use it!]

I had to spend about an hour today setting up and testing out things on my mobile devices and things work a bit quirky but they do work.

I set up Ecency a while back on which I am writing this on my iPad- it’s about twice as slow going as with the laptop thanks to the inferior keyboard ergonomics but OK for a few days- the Ecency app itself I quite like!

The main reason I need more than Ecency is because of Riftwatchers going live Thursday PM so I need access to Splinterlands and Hive-Engine as I want to sell some Voucher into the pump which may not max out until I am en route to Holland.

Prepping Splinterlands

I did download the SL app but you cannot yet purchase packs through that app - so this meant setting up the browser so I had to port over my posting key to SL and my active key to Hive Signer (copies since deleted!]

I tested out buying a Chaos pack using the SL browser and it worked fine - not too shabby an opening either…

I also tried transferring some SPS and VOUCHER both too and from SL - You need Hivesigner to do this I think - I do have KeyChain installed but it doesn’t seem to communicate at all with SL or anything else unless you open up whatever dapp in the HS browser but that’s a little small screen for me!

An odd quirk of SL is that when you send to HE you get a pop up approval within SL when you transfer in from HE you get taken to a new Hivesighner window - although if you’ve already got HS open you might find the approval button waiting for you without your being sent there from HE - something to watch for!

Setting up Key Chain

A really nice app this - great for basic transfers and if you open up the browser in the app you can go to LeoDex and buy and sell Hive-Engine assets - if you have your active key in the keychain.

Although I tried this once and it worked but I couldn’t make it buy or sell anything a second time so I also…

Set up BeeSwap

I used their own keychain and it functions just like it does on my laptop - so top marks to @gerber for mobile integration!

Final thoughts on setting up mobile dapps for Hive…

Overall I’m glad I’ve got functional options to be able to go fully mobile but I don’t like having my keys in too many devices so I will probably do a hard Hive password reset next week and get those keys changed and then just go back to using my laptop only!

Sort:  

Have you tried the Hive Keychain app, there’s a browser on it and it takes you keychain data to any dapp if you launch it. What it doesn’t do is let you zoom in, not good for a iPhone but ok for a pad.

I know what you mean - it's good enough for a few days but that's my limit!

I had this problem with the keychain app a while back where it did reset all my login very often so I had to re input my posting/active key and it was a pain. I don’t know if it is just my phone or if others have the same problem.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I love Ecency on my phone, and it's my preferred front end on laptop too. I didn't realize Keychain has a browser built in until you mentioned it, and man does that help. Thanks for showing me something new.

Have a blast at Hivefest!

It’s a bit clunky that built in browser but it does work and is an option!

I have run ecency on my phone for ages and use it when I am away from home. I also have Keychain installed on my tablet and it is useful for a few things such as Splinterlands, Rising Star and Hive Engine. I would rather use a PC, but I don't even have a decent laptop I can use on the go. You have to remember that many people do everything on their phones these days, so we need good mobile Hive apps.

See you in Amsterdam!

It’s a good opportunity to try out the mobile apps - just headed out and it’s quite a weight off knowing I don’t have to worry about my laptop!

I'm using ecency to reply as I wait at Brussels station for my last train to Amsterdam. It's fine for general interaction.

I've never been able to get rising star to work on mobile until just now when I tried the Keychain browser. This is really great.

while mobile isn't the most friendly, it will only get better!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I didn’t want to bring my laptop either so IPad and Phone will have to do, I am using my phone for Splinterland directly, I tried the app a while back but didn’t enjoy it, I prefer the web app even on phone. Anyway it should be good to buy a few riftwatcher back tonight.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta