Brand new music video I made (entirely in lockdown)

in #hivefilm4 years ago (edited)

I'm very pleased to be able to show my brand new thrash metal music video set in space that I've directed/shot/cut/produced all during lockdown at home (and in the garage!)

Check it out the dark dystopian blackhole visualiser right here, and go pay Shrapnel a visit too :)

(update: the embedded video seems to saying 'video unavailable', which is annoying, but I suggest you click the top title words "Shrapnel - Might Of Cygnus (Visualiser)" to take you to the video)

(update: the embedded video seems to saying 'video unavailable', which is annoying, but I suggest you click the top title words "Shrapnel - Might Of Cygnus (Visualiser)" to take you to the video)

I've been posting various behind-the-scenes updates on HIVE that others might have seen, as well as a trailer, earlier today... but this is the final product.

The band are really pleased with it - especially considering the circumstances of lockdown - and the fans are digging it too.

Woaaah!
CygnusAshTV10.jpg

The challenge of making a video 'in-space' was a big one.

I wanted the tone to be gritty, dark, dystopian - but also taking influence from films like 2001 A Space Odyssey, Interstellar, and even a bit of The Blair Witch Project.
You might see some of those influences :)

CygnusAshTV26.jpg

The band shot their performance bits from home (on their phones) and each emailed me their individual head shots of them performing the track.

Other than incorporating those clips in to the video, the canvas was totally, and utterly, blank.

CygnusAshTV32.jpg

So I started from scratch a few weeks ago and have slowly (in-between other work) managed to create this.

Please do share the link around if you're a thrash metal fan.
I know the band would really appreciate it :)

Cheers for watching and following this little project's journey.
Cheers for reading, @ashtv

Sort:  

Wow. It's great to see the final outcome. W
I was surprised when u posted about three weeks ago that you were working on a project in such a small space. Its came out awesome. Kudos Man.

Not a thrash metal fan tho, but I'll still share

That is appreciated @k-banti!
Thanks for the comment and for following the project 😁

I like the font you chose and the pseudo projection you're doing with your monitor. It's very claustrophobic. I like the distorted faces in the glass. Very nice!

Claustrophobic is definitely what I was going for! Cheers for watching and the comment

getting a weird 'video unavailable' message on the video btw

Bugger. Cheers for letting me know.

What’s going on with hive lately, all my videos aren’t playing on the platform, even dTube isn’t working playing videos for most people.

This is just a good old YouTube URL too. Weird!
I’ll see if I can just edit in another link.

It looks to me like this video is marked as non-embeddable at the YouTube end. Check settings in the YouTube account.

For example, this video will not show up:

It’s not hosted on my YouTube account, so I sadly cannot change it.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks @c-squared! Always appreciated :)