Working weekend in Rotterdam

in #hivefilm ā€¢ 2 years ago

At the end of October I had a working trip to Rotterdam.

img_4626.png

(Quite pleased with this ridiculous photo taken of me by Geoff šŸ˜‚ it perfectly captures the essence of stressful travel)

Not only was this the first trip abroad in a long (LONG) time, and not only was this the first time Iā€™ve ever filmed/worked abroad, but this was the first time Iā€™ve been to Rotterdam too.

And wow what a beautiful city.

I was staying in the newer developed part of town with HUGE buildings and super modern fixtures.

img_4635.png

Itā€™s not like I got to see that much culture of Rotterdam in the time we had, but I was struck by how modern and clean the whole city was.
(I fully appreciate a clean city - which is basically the opposite of where I live)
Everyone was super kind of welcoming. The food was amazing. I live the sound of the language too. Very cool.

What was I doing in Rotterdam?

I was there to film coverage, Q&Aā€™s and live performances from the Dutch Double Bass Festival 21!

img_4631.png

I was shooting on behalf of the fantastic Discover Double Bass, a business Iā€™ve had a long and trusting filming relationship with for many years. The produce Double Bass video content, in case that hadnā€™t clicked.

img_4637.png

We spent 2 days filming at the event and the hosts were fantastic. The venue was fantastic too, with it being a very modern (and brand new) theatre space called ā€™Theatre Zudpleinā€™. (hard to pronounce)

img_4633.png

img_4636.png

An immediate highlight of filming, which happened only 2 hours after arriving at the venue that night, was filming very popular legendary double bassist Dave Holland in a Q&A to a packed out room.

img_4632.png

He was very cool and generously gave some great stories and advice to the eager audience, as well as to our awesome host Geoff from Discover Double Bass.

As soon as we arrived it felt like we had to leave though.

We spent approximately 8 hours travelling each travel day, and so I felt exhausted a couple of days after. But it was well worth it.

(Photo of Sian, fellow videographer giving the thumbs up!)
img_4638.png

It was great to be on the EUROSTAR, travelling through countries at 187mph! Super cool experience.

Filming itself was pretty straightforward. Four cameras packed in to three cases. Easy to figure out what we needed to do even though there was a bit of a time pressure. But all was good.

The whole trip was great, and I look forward to more international travels for work.
And maybe even some for fun too.

img_4634.png

I hope all the HIVE family are keeping well!
Iā€™ve been so busy with work and life Iā€™ve not had time much on here, but itā€™s good to be back for a bit. šŸ˜Ž

šŸ¤™šŸ»

Sort: Ā 

Man, you get about don't ya?
When are we doing the new Darren Claxon video?

I certainly do!
Hit me up [email protected] :)

Look at my boy being busy like a boss and all! Can we please talk about the food? What did you eat? That's really the most important part of any trip, this and good company but you were sorted haha. šŸ˜„

Yay! šŸ¤—
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @ashtv.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you @ecency! Great app, as ever. Thanks for making Hive so accessible and rewarding us for using it šŸ˜ƒšŸ˜Ž

Cool gig. I guess the musicians had bigger cases than you. I've not used the Eurostar, but would be tempted to do that rather than fly. We're a bit closer to London, so it wouldn't take as long. I do like the Dutch. They seem to have a good attitude to life and I don't think that's purely down to what some of them smoke.

!PIZZA !LOL

All fair points. Including what they do/donā€™t smoke!

Iā€™d recommend the EuroStar. Good value I believe. Itā€™s not as luxurious inside as what I was expecting. But itā€™s a slightly older, worn service now. Not huge amounts of legroom but for the few hours we were on it was good. 187mph is fast too - when running parallel with the motorway it makes the haluiage tankers look stationary!

Lots of tall folk there too, so even I can feel a bit short. I need to go back some time anyway.

wow,,, quite a pleasant trip. I can feel in the expression of your first picture @ashtv, you are very happy and enjoy your trip.

Indeed! šŸ˜€

Hi @ashtv,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@steevc(2/10) tipped @ashtv (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

those gears

@dandays I want them

I think I do too.

Gorgeous photos, I recognize that depressing sky anywhere.

You really did have an amazing trip to rotterdam @ashtv and what an amazing pictures you capture, you did really enjoy yourself. Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful day.

Really gorgeous photo Ashtv. Geoff did a great job of covering the travel stresses.