[Hive P v. S] Arcade game for the Hive: Progress week 1

in #hivegaming4 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Open source arcade game with Hive blockchain support. Read the bottom about section for more information about the game and background. Now onto the progress report of this first week of development...

Smash it all together

Decided to take the old project from GitHub and drop it into an empty template based on Preactubats. This is the same that I built my site with and I also use to make this game. The plan is that doing this will give the project a lot of behind the scenes functionality and make it fast to do the changes planned for the GUI.

The old project creates all the buttons, texts etc for the menus in the game, this did not work 100% well and I remember throwing things in there to get it working. The code for this will be removed and instead a UI layer will be added above the game. The UI layer will host all menus and other interface objects, and the creation of them will be much easier as it can be done with regular CSS and Preact components.

Getting the project up and running went fast. Was surprised by this, but also it shows the power of web/javascript development. Lots of different techniques, but in the end they are all transpiled down into vanilla js, css and html. I did decide on refactoring the old files from .js to .ts, I think this will be beneficial in the long run and it gave me a good reason to go over all the old files and refresh my memory of how it was done.

To get some visual progress made this week, I picked some fonts and used them for the game logo and texts. The old game used plain old Courier... Will possibly change the new fonts later. The last bit I toyed around with was adding an interlaced old arcade type of filter, will have to experiment some more with it later.

Screenshot_20200508 Hive P v S.png
src

Thanks for reading, see you next week!

About

Originally created as a game for Steemit game jam nr 4. Renamed to Zteem.io with Steem blockchain support added to be able to store a high score list, Zteem.io announcement. High scores from users looked like this.

Brought the project back to life to add Hive support and while at it improve gameplay and presentation.

Project links: source code at GitHub, more info and try the game.


Game development using web technologies.

Spelmakare.se
Discord
GitHub

Try the latest development build of Hive P v. S
Try the latest development build of Purple & Eye

Sort:  

Played a few games, this is fun! Good luck with your updates, will be back to see what you decide to do with the game.

Thanks!

getting the hang of this! Though I seem to not be able to sign up...I press the button but it dosn't take me anywhere

The hive functionality is disabled at the moment, buttons there but not possible to post to the blockchain. Think I'll add it back after I worked a bit with art, effects and gameplay changes :)