The Winter Garden

in #hivegarden2 years ago

IMG_20211109_111747198.jpg

So the vegetables are going well and most of the cabbage is coming along nicely. An errant potato plant has decided to make a go it next to my cabbage.

Screenshot 2021-11-09 at 16-09-48  handofzara.png

This is what the cabbage looked like a month ago, sans the potato. Not bad growth in a month's time and the head is just starting to form.

I grow mostly in containers and grow bags, simply because I am somewhat lazy and HATE weeding.

I can handle the watering and fertilizing but getting down on the ground in a perpetual battle against the weeds is just not my thing.

I recently discovered an added advantage to growing in containers.

As the Seasons change, so does the amount of Sunlight getting to my garden. So what to do?

IMG_20211109_111738358.jpg

Move the garden to a sunnier spot!

No that is what I call a bonus.

IMG_20211109_111803117_HDR.jpg

The leeks and the chives are doing well. I have already harvested a few leeks and used them in soup. The chives I give the occasional "haircut" to throw on top of potatoes.

The snow pea plants have become rather large BUT I am still in a race against time. If the peas do not set soon I fear there will not be a crop this Fall.

IMG_20211109_111825999.jpg

I have got the flowers but as of yet no peas.

This past month I tore up my old raised bed.

IMG_20211003_124622093.jpg

The boards had begun to rot and the screws had rusted away. The whole thing just needed to be replaced probably two seasons ago but I kept putting it off.

If you have ever built a raised bed, and are as "tool challenged" as myself, then you might know that the cutting and the drilling and the screwing not to mention the cussing can lead to something that is a tad whopper jawed and not apt to stay together.

I did mention that I am sort of a lazy gardener.

Well I made a discovery at the local Lowe's Home Improvement that was perfect for this lazy man.

IMG_20211109_111907209_HDR.jpg

GARDEN BRICKS!

Lowe's did all the cutting of the wood. There is no drilling! There was no cussing!

Simply stack the bricks and slide the wood into the slots. That took me all of about ten minutes and done!

A raised bed made to order for the old @handofzara!

Once the leeks are done I will add another level of wood and then add some more soil for the Spring garden.

I might have to put a few more of these to the garden as time goes by.

I almost forgot one of my favorite winter vegetables.

IMG_20211109_111810607.jpg

My collards are coming along nicely. We did have a frost this last weekend so soon they might actually taste good. I typically will wait until after the first snow fall before harvesting the collards. It takes a good cold snap to work the bitterness out of collards.

So that is what has been growing around here in a lazy man's Winter garden.

How is your garden coming along this season?

Sort:  

"I've got me Romanar Lettuce an' Radishes sprooted oan th' forecastle deck. Plenty o' sunshine. Suin Ahh'll hav tae break oot th' gallon an' a half glass jars!" -Keptin

C-Slane-25.jpg